Dewease captures first win of year at Susquehanna


Lance Dewease won Sunday evening's Kevin Gobrecht Classic at Susquehanna Speedway Park.


Including bonus monies for fast-time and a heat race victory, Dewease collected $4,300 for his first win of the season.

Dewease started fourth and took the lead from pole-sitter Greg Hodnett of Spring Grove on the 22nd of 30 laps. Dewease went on to score the victory over Hodnett with Brent Marks, Dillsburg's Aaron Ott and Steve Buckwalter in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Ryan Smith, Lucas Wolfe, Kim Shaffer, Billy Dietrich and Rodney Westhafer.

Saturday: Lewisberry’s Kyle Moody became Lincoln Speedway’s eighth different winner in eight sprint car races this season on Saturday evening.

Moody’s first win of the season was his second career sprint car win at Lincoln and was worth $3,200.

Moody started fourth and took the lead from Frankie Herr on the fifth of 25 laps. He then had to fend off Robbie Kendall for the win. Kendall finished second with Brian Montieth coming from the 17th starting spot for third. Dover’s Austin Hogue and Shane Hoff completed the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Billy Dietrich, Alan Krimes, York’s Glenndon Forsythe, Scott Fisher and York’s Adam Wilt.

York’s Jeff Rohrbaugh became Lincoln’s first repeat winner in any division this season with his win in the 358 sprint feature. Rohrbaugh’s second win of the season came over Fawn Grove’s Matt Campbell, with Jeff Halligan third. Doug Hammaker and Chandler Leiby completed the top five. Rounding out the top ten were York’s Dalton Dietrich, Dillsburg’s Chris Arnold, Hellam’s Adrian Shaffer, Brent Shearer and Cody Fletcher.

Ryan Smith was the street stock winner over Chad Stine, Jim Palm Jr, Josh Bloom and Manchester’s Eddie Richards.

Port Royal: Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett scored his sixth overall win of the season on Saturday and 45th career win at Port Royal Speedway, winning $3,200 for the race victory.

Hodnett took over the top spot from Lucas Wolfe at the halfway point of the 25-lap feature and edged Aaron Ott for the win. Doug Esh, Wolfe and Mark Smith completed the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Brock Zearfoss, Ryan Smith, Ryan Taylor, Steve Buckwalter and AJ Flick.

Chad Hollenback got his first career Port Royal late model win over Dylan Yoder, Kenny Moreland, Dover’s Coleby Frye and Jim Yoder.

Devin hart won the econo late model feature, and the xtreme stock event went to Pete Leister.

Susquehanna Speedway: Also on Saturday night, Jaremi Hanson led all 25 laps to win the PASS 305 sprint feature at Susquehanna Speedway Park.

Zach Newlin finshed second, with jared Esh coming from the 24th starting spot for third. Ken Ducke and Ryan Stillwaggon completed the first five.

Dover’s Gene Knaub won the limited late model feature over Dover’s Charles Potts, with Ben Whittaker, Matt Nailor and Cameron Benyou in the top five.

Eric Boozel won the road warrior event.

Rain halts shows: Friday racing at Williams Grove and Trailway was rained out, while Selinsgrove postponed it's Saturday show because of wet grounds.

— Bryan Householder can be reached at