DIRT TRACK RACING: Dietrich triumphs at Selinsgrove


Danny Dietrich won the 30-lap All Star Circuit of Champions feature at Selinsgrove Speedway on Sunday evening.

Dietrich's win in the Ray Tilley Classic was worth $5,000.

Former NASCAR racer Dave Blaney took off from the start and drove away from the field. Dietrich chased Blaney for much of the distance but only began closing as the race neared its end. Dietrich edged ahead at the flag stand on the 28th lap and went on to score the victory over Blaney.

Mark Smith finished third, with Dale Blaney and Blane Heimbach in the top five.

Rounding out the top 10 were Kraig Kinser, Brent Marks, Lucas Wolfe, Sheldon Haudenschild and Fairview Township's Pat Cannon.

Blaney earns All Star win at Port Royal: All Star kingpin Dale Blaney raced to the win Saturday in Port Royal’s All Star-sanctioned Keith Kauffman Classic.

Blaney started second and led all 30 laps for the $5,000 victory.

Ironically, the win was Blaney’s 129th career All Star win, a number that matches Kauffman’s career win total in Port Royal sprint car action. Kauffman was in victory lane to greet Blaney. Chad Kemenah finished second, with Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett in third.

Dave Blaney, the winner’s older brother, and a former NASCAR Cup series regular, put on a passing clinic, coming from the 24th starting spot to finish fourth, with Steve Buckwalter completing the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Brent Marks, Ryan Smith, Sheldon Haudenschild, T.J. Michael and Blane Heimbach.

In the opening race of the Moonshine Camo Route 35 Challenge for the late models, Hayes Mattern scored the $2,000 win in his Moonshine-sponsored racer. Andy Haus, Jim Yoder, Mike Lupfer and Dave Zona completed the top five.

Dietrich triumphs at Lincoln: Danny Dietrich claimed his first win of the season in Lincoln’s 25-lap sprint car feature Saturday. Dietrich’s win was worth $3,200.

Dietrich was slated to start sixth, but when outside front row starter J.J. Grasso was unable to start his racer, Dietrich moved up to fourth. Dietrich took the top spot from Lewisberry’s Kyle Moody on the fifth lap and kept Dover’s Austin Hogue at bay for the remainder of the event. Hogue finished second, with Jim Siegel making a late-race charge for third. Robbie Kendall and York’s Adam Wilt completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Gerard McIntyre Jr., Freddie Rahmer, Moody, Spring Grove’s Tim Glatfelter and Steve Owings.

Defending champion Doug Hammaker won the 358 sprint feature for his first Lincoln win of the season. Hammaker grabbed the lead from Jeff Halligan on the 10th lap and then fended off Halligan’s valiant last-lap charge for the win. Halligan finished second, with York’s Jeff Rohrbaugh, Hellam’s Adrian Shaffer and Chandler Leiby in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were York’s C.J. Tracy, who led the first two laps, Matt Findley, Fawn Grove’s Matt Campbell, Cody Fletcher and Phil Walter.

In Legends action, Hanover’s Mason Chaney won the make-up feature, giving him three consecutive victories, following his wins at Path Valley last week and Trailway on Friday. Trailing Chaney were Scott Houdeshell, York’s Bill Diehl, Chad Earnst and Chris Transeau.

In the regular event, Bob Stough came out on top of a tight battle to score the win over Earnst, Chaney, Diehl and Houdeshell.

Wellsville's Geesey victorious at Susquehanna: Wellsville’s Scott Geesey raced to victory in the super sportsman feature at Susquehanna Saturday.

The win was Geesey’s first since suffering a broken arm in midseason last year. Geesey took the lead on the seventh of 25 laps and bested veteran Rich Eichelberger, of Dillsburg, for the win. Russ Mitten finished third, with Chad Smith and Fawn Grove’s Paul Miller in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Lewisberry’s Scott Dellinger, Steve Wilbur, Gregg Foster, Dover’s Teddy Thomas and Rick Barr.

Jimmy Combs won the street stock feature over Scott Thunberg, and Tim O’Sheehan was the road warrior winner.

Montieth drives to Grove victory: Brian Montieth raced to his first Williams Grove win of the season in Friday’s Tommy Hinnershitz Memorial Race.

Montieth’s second overall win of the season was worth $6,000.

Montieth started fourth and made several bold moves to grab the lead on the first of 30 laps. He led the rest of the way, despite plenty of pressure from pole-sitter Danny Dietrich, who finished second. Greg Hodnett finished third, after starting sixth. Stevie Smith and Ryan Smith completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Doug Esh, Alan Krimes, Freddie Rahmer, Lucas Wolfe and York’s Cory Haas.

Manchester’s Mike Potts won the street stock feature over Kory Sites and Craig Morgan.

Sneeringer leads way at Trailway: Hanover’s Issac Sneeringer won Friday’s 358 sprint feature at Trailway.

Sneeringer, making his first start of the season, came from the sixth starting spot to take the lead from Cody Fletcher on the 18th of 25 laps. Seth Kearchner finished second, with Mike Bittinger in third. Doug Hammaker and Fletcher completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Stewartstown’s Randy Whisler, Dillsburg’s Chris Frank, Bob Howard, Brandon Noel and Dave Thrush.

Hanover’s Mason Chaney won the Legends feature with a last-lap pass of Chad Earnst, who finished second. Rounding out the top five were Travis McClelland, Greg Burg and Austin Ballamare.

In the 600cc micro sprint feature, Hayden Miller was the winner over Travis Scott, Jim Young, Tyler Walton and Bo Gordon.

Matt Chronister won the limited stock feature.

Reach Bryan Householder at