Ruins Hall, a public arts haven, receives $1 million grant for repairs

DIRT TRACK RACING: Kemenah races to triumph at Bedford

  • Tyler Ross earned $3,200 for this first 410 sprint win at Lincoln Speedway on Saturday.
  • Spring Grove's Great Hodnett won the sprint feature at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday.
  • Doug Esh raced to his first win of the season in Friday’s 25-lap sprint feature at Williams Grove.

Chad Kemenah won the All Star Circuit of Champions feature at Bedford Speedway on Sunday evening.

Kemenah collected $5,000 for the victory.

Kemenah started third and made a spectacular first-lap move to take the lead, which he held for the entire 25-lap distance.

Spring Grove's Greg Hodnett made a last-race charge to finish second, just a few car lengths behind Kemenah.

Cap Henry finished third, with Lucas Wolfe and Mark Smith in the top five.

Rounding out the top 10 were: Danny Dietrich, Kim Shaffer, Dale Blaney, Brent Marks and T.J. Stutts.


Ross claims first Lincoln Speedway win: Second-generation racer Tyler Ross claimed his first career 410 sprint win Saturday at Lincoln Speedway.

Ross collected $3,200 for his victory.

Ross started second and chased pole-sitter Tim Glatfelter, of Spring Grove, for the first 15 laps of the 25-lap event. Once in front, Ross motored away for the win. Alan Krimes, who started 10th, came on strong late in the race for second place, with Glatfelter in third. Dover’s Austin Hogue and Robbie Kendall completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Jim Siegel, Gerard McIntyre Jr., Brian Montieth, York’s Cory Haas and Danny Dietrich.

Fawn Grove’s Matt Campbell won the 20-lap 358 sprint feature for his first win of the year. Wyatt Hinkle led the first two laps from the pole before sixth starter Tyler Esh took over the top spot. Campbell, who started eighth, got the lead from Esh on the 11th lap after the two crossed the line in a dead heat the lap before. Esh finished second, with Hellam’s Adrian Shaffer, Matt Findley and York’s Jeff Rohrbaugh in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Hinkle, Phil Walter, Doug Hammaker, Dillsburg’s Brie Hershey and Chandler Leiby.

Kyle Lear won the 20-lap limited late model feature. Lear and Hanover’s Sam Gallagher ran the first two laps side by side, with Gallagher credited with leading the first lap and Lear the remaining 19. Ralph Morgan Jr. came on with a late charge to get alongside Lear on the final turn, but had to settle for second. Gallagher, Manchester’s Randy Christine Jr. and Shaun Jones completed the top five.

Hodnett races to Port Royal victory: Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett raced to his second Port Royal win of the season Saturday.

Hodnett’s fifth overall win of the season was worth $3,200.

Hodnett started third and took the lead from Brock Zearfoss on the 11th of 25 laps. The race went non-stop after a multi-car tangle at the start left only 12 cars running for the restart. Zearfoss finished second, with Blane Heimbach in third. Dylan Cisney and Doug Esh completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Mike Wagner, Ryan Taylor, Tyler Bear, Wayne Dadetto and Kody Lehman.

Hodnett keeps rolling early in season

York Haven’s Billy Wampler won the late model feature over Andy Haus. Wampler took the lead from third-place finisher Andrew Yoder on the 13th lap. Chad Hollenbeck and Tim Smith Jr. completed the top five.

Nate Gramley won both of the PASS 305 sprint features. In the make-up event from April 2, Gramley was the winner over Zach Newlin, Jake Waters, Ken Duke and Mark Watkins. In the regular event, Gramley won over Drew Ritchey, Watkins, Newlin and Waters.

Foster drives to Susquehanna triumph: Gregg Foster made it two out of three in the super sportsman feature at Susquehanna Saturday evening.

Foster scored the win over Lewisberry’s Scott Dellinger, with Wellsville’s Scott Geesey in third. Kevin Nouse and Russ Mitten completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Mike Enders, Doug Dodson, Fawn Grove’s Paul Miller, Dillsburg’s Rich Eichelberger and Chad Criswell.

Brenden Bright won the ARDC Midget feature over Trevor Kobylarz, Tommy Kunzman Jr., Alex Bright and Nick Wean.

Donnie Broderick was the extreme stock winner and Dennis Derosz won the minivan feature.

Keller victorious at Selinsgrove: Cody Keller won the Saturday’s URC/ESS 360 Sprint Challenge at Selinsgrove.

Keller’s $2,200 win came over Mark Smith.

Keller and Steve Collins started on the front row and swapped the lead numerous times over the first five laps before Keller took command. Collins eventually faded to ninth. Smith finished second, with Robbie Stillwaggon, Justin Barger and Jason Clauss in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Davie Franek, Curt Michael, Derek Locke, Collins and Ryan Kissinger.

Jeff Rine claimed his 97th career Selinsgrove late model win after a stirring duel with Dover’s Coleby Frye. In the closing stages of the race, Steve Campbell got by Frye for second, with Frye, Jim Yoder and Bryan Bernheisel in the top five.

Andrew Shoop bested Strinestown’s Tommy Slanker for the pro stock win.

Anderson excels at Hagerstown: Andy Anderson won his second Hagerstown late model feature of the season Saturday, leading all the way.

Kenny Moreland followed Anderson to the flag, with Matt Cosner, Scott Palmer and Gary Stuhler in the top five.

Justin Weaver won the make-up feature for the late model sportsman and Kyle Lee won the regular event. Logan Robertson was the crate late model winner, Chris Ebersole won the pure stock event and Shawn Shoemaker won the hobby stock feature.

Esh shines at Williams Grove: Doug Esh raced to his first win of the season in Friday’s 25-lap sprint car feature at Williams Grove. Esh’s 23rd career Williams Grove win was worth $3,600.

Esh started sixth in the feature. Dover’s Austin Hogue grabbed the early lead from the outside front row starting spot. Hogue held the top spot until Esh moved by in lapped traffic on the 22nd lap. From there, Esh pulled away to score the win over Hogue. Danny Dietrich pulled off a last-lap pass of Brian Montieth for third, with Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett completing the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Lance Dewease, Brock Zearfoss, Freddie Rahmer, Stevie Smith and Mark Smith.

Scott Ellerman celebrated his birthday with his first career Williams Grove win in the 20-lap PASS 305 sprint feature. Ellerman took the lead from Jaremi Hanson on the 17th lap.Hanson finished second, with Mike Kiser, Zach Newlin and Jordan Thomas in the top five.

Hammaker leads way at Trailway: Doug Hammaker won last year’s overall 358 sprint car point title, but what he had never done was win a 358 sprint feature at Trailway Speedway.

That changed Friday evening. Hammaker led all 25 laps to best Dwight Leppo for the win. Jeff Halligan finished third, followed by Cody Fletcher and Brandon Noel in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Spring Grove’s Zach Eucalano, Dave Thrush, Stewartstown’s Randy Whisler, Wyatt Hinkle and Steven Kisamore.

Levi Peck won the 270cc micro sprint feature over Bill Laughman, Cory Myers, Brian Marriott and Chad Myers.

Chad Weaver was the limited stock winner, and Ron Grove won the classic car feature.

Reach Bryan Householder at