Triumphant Lincoln Speedway return for Kasey Kahne

  • Kasey Kahne earned $5,000 for winning Saturday's sprint car feature at Lincoln Speedway.
  • It was Kahne's first-ever triumph at Lincoln.
  • Kahne needed just 8 minutes, 9.008 seconds to finish the non-stop race.

NASCAR star Kasey Kahne made a triumphant return to his racing roots on Saturday evening at Lincoln Speedway.

Kahne won the 30-lap Spring Championship for the sprint cars. Kahne’s first career Lincoln win was worth $5,000.

Kasey Kahne won Saturday night's sprint car feature at Lincoln Speedway.

Although he has raced at Lincoln frequently in the past, Kahne had never before won there. He lined up alongside five-time and defending track champion Brian Montieth on the front row for the feature event. Kahne got the jump on Montieth on the start and 8 minutes, 9.008 seconds later was celebrating in victory lane after the non-stop event.  With every car finishing the race, lapped traffic was a constant battle, but Kahne never faltered at the front.

Montieth chased Kahne the whole way, but had to settle for second with the evening’s fast-timer, Lucas Wolfe, in third. Danny Dietrich came from the seventh starting spot for fourth and Ryan Smith completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Freddie Rahmer, York’s Adam Wilt, Jim Siegel, York’s Cory Haas and J.J. Grasso.

Dillsburg’s Chris Arnold won the 20-lap 358 sprint feature after a spirited battle with Fawn Grove’s Matt Campbell. After several aborted starts, Arnold grabbed the early lead in the event. Campbell was close behind, but didn’t challenge until the second half of the race. Campbell used the high side of the track to take the lead from Arnold on the 14th lap, but Arnold fought right back as the cars crossed the start line in a dead heat on the 15th lap. Campbell gained the lead the next time by and held on until Arnold regained the top spot with just two laps remaining. Campbell had to settle for second, with Hellam’s Adrian Shaffer a close third. David Holbrook and Hanover’s Troy Wagaman Jr. completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Jeff Halligan, Chandler Leiby, Ashley Cappetta, Matt Findley and Tyler Esh.


Ott victorious at Port Royal: Aaron Ott drove away from the field to win the 25-lap sprint-car feature at Port Royal Saturday. Ott’s first win of the season came by more than seven seconds and was worth $3.200.

Ott started from the front row and led all 25 laps, with Doug Esh finishing second. Logan Wagner got third, followed by Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett and Ryan Taylor in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Brock Zearfoss, Mark Smith, Mike Wagner, Wayne Dadetto and Curt Stroup.

In the UFO late model feature, Gregg Satterlee picked up the $3,000 win after numerous battles during the event. Newberrytown’s Jason Covert finished second, with Austin Hubbard in third. Dan Stone and Jim Yoder rounded out the top five. Completing the top 10 were Kyle Hardy, Don Lingo Jr., Chad Hollenbeck, Matt Parks and Mike Lupfer.

In the UFO limited late model event, Rance Garlock picked up the win over Kyle Lee, Eric Irvan, Ralph Morgan Jr. and Dillan Stake.

Foster wins at Susquehanna: Gregg Foster opened a new era at Susquehanna Speedway with the win in the super sportsman feature.

Foster’s big win came over Kevin Nouse, with hard-charger Russ Mitten in third ahead of Devin Beidel and Kenny Edkin. Rounding out the top 10 were Timmie Barrick, Dillsburg’s Rich Eichelberger, Wellsville’s Scott Geesey, Jay Fannasy and Tony Jackson.

Susquehanna Speedway Park under new ownership

In the limited late model feature, Dover’s Gene Knaub scored his first win of the season over Jake Jones. York Haven’s Steve Billet was third, with Manchester’s Randy Christine Jr. and Dover’s Justin Erhart in the top five.

Criag Morgan won the street stock feature over Jason Geeseaman, with Manchester’s Eddie Richards in third. Ryan Smith and Jim Palm completed the top five.

The Legends feature went to York’s Bill Diehl over another Yorker, Lucas Montgomery.  Chad Earnst, Travis McClelland and Justin Mitchell completed the top five.

Hodnett shines at Grove: Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett won Friday’s 25-lap sprint car feature at Williams Grove.

Hodnett’s $3,800 win was his first of the year at the Grove, but his third overall. It was also his 61st career triumph at Williams Grove.

Hodnett started seventh and worked his way forward as pole-sitter Brock Zearfoss got the jump on his cousin Brent Marks, who started second. As Marks challenged Zearfoss for the lead, Hodnett moved to third spot and then into the battle for the lead. Hodnett took over the top spot on lap 12, just one lap before Zearfoss dropped from competition with mechanical problems. Marks, however didn’t give up the chase, and took the lead from Hodnett on lap 17. Now Hodnett kept up the pressure on Marks and regained the top spot on the 22nd lap. But, as Hodnett and Marks battled for the lead, 14th-starter Brian Montieth entered the picture and made his own bid for the top spot. In the end, it was Hodnett over Marks, with Montieth, Aaron Ott and Ryan Smith in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were York’s Cory Haas, Danny Dietrich (who came from 18th), Mark Smith, Lucas Wolfe and Doug Esh, who came from the 20th starting spot.

In the 25-lap late model feature, Matt Cosner scored his first career super late model win, worth $2,000.

Cosner took the lead from Bryan Bernheisel on the fifth lap and then had to fend off a late-race challenge from last week’s winner, Gregg Satterlee. Satterlee finished second, with Bernheisel, Jim Yoder and Dylan Yoder in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Kenny Pettyjohn, Dover’s Gene Knaub, Rick Singleton, Gary Stuhler and Mason Zeigler.

Reach Bryan Householder at