Jersey driver Rick Lafferty wins Williams Grove opener

  • Rick Lafferty earned $3,800 for his sprint car win at Williams Grove Speedway.
  • In the super late model main, Gregg Satterlee of Rochester Mills triumphed at Williams Grove.

MECHANICSBURG — Rick Lafferty of Pennington, New Jersey, scored the opening day sprint car feature at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night, scoring $3,800 for the payday after being pressured for the lead by Freddie Rahmer and having been passed for the win by Greg Hodnett.

In the super late model main, Gregg Satterlee of Rochester Mills etched his name in the Williams Grove record books for the first time as a winner in the division.

Lafferty started on the pole of the 25-lap 410 sprint car main and was followed by Rahmer for the first 16 laps before seventh starter Greg Hodnett took the second spot away.

The first 17 circuits of the event went non-stop before Lucas Wolfe, who had run third up until that point, rolled to a stop bringing out the races first caution flag period.

Brian Montieth had charged from 11th up to fifth for the restart and was in the middle of a hard battle with Danny Dietrich when he came up with a right rear flat on the 19th lap, slowing the pace again.

Hodnett then made good on his second restart chances by driving underneath Lafferty for the top spot in the first and second turns to take control with five laps to go.

But then seemingly as quickly as he took the lead, Hodnett suddenly slowed on the 21st lap and pulled pitside, turning the race back over to Lafferty.

By that time, Lafferty had just four laps to go to hold on to the win with Rahmer still chasing in second however Rahmer came up .899 seconds short of his first-ever Williams Grove win at the line.

Dietrich rode home third followed by Aaron Ott and Steve Buckwalter.

More area tracks join fun this weekend

Sixth through 10th went to Cory Haas, Doug Esh, Brent Marks, Robbie Stillwaggon and Austin Hogue.

Heats went to Montieth, Buckwalter and Stillwaggon with Brock Zearfoss scoring the consolation race.

Huntingdon’s Rick Singleton took the lead at the start of the 25-lap super late model main over fourth starter Satterlee.

The pace was slowed with six laps down for a stopped Kyle Hardy and Satterlee applied pressure for control on the restart however Singleton proved hard to overtake.

It wasn’t until the ten-to-go point that Satterlee was finally able to find enough muscle to get by Singleton.

He went inside the veteran leader for control while racing through the third and fourth turns to get command but then found his pace slowed with four laps to go.

And Singleton stunned on the restart by pulling alongside Satterlee for the win as the pair crossed the line with three laps to go.

But Satterlee hung tough as the pair pulled into the first corner and drove back out in front for the victory worth $2,000.

Singleton settled for second followed by Gene Knaub.

Dylan Yoder started 18th in the field and motored to the front, getting by the cars of Matt Cosner and Bryan Bernheisel on the final restart to finish fourth with Cosner ending up fifth.

Sixth through 10th went to Bryan Bernheisel, Gary Stuhler, Coleby Frye, Jim Bernheisel and Trent Brenneman.

Heats went to Gene Knaub and Bryan Bernheisel.

March 18, 2016 Feature Finishes:

410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Rick Lafferty, 2. Freddie Rahmer, 3. Danny Dietrich, 4. Aaron Ott, 5. Steve Buckwalter, 6. Cory Haas, 7. Doug Esh, 8. Brent Marks, 9. Robbie Stillwaggon, 10. Austin Hogue, 11. Mark Smith, 12. Pat Cannon, 13. Brian Montieth, 14. Ryan Smith, 15. Alan Krimes, 16. Rodney Westhafer, 17. Matt Campbell, 18. Brock Zearfoss, 19. Nicole Bower, 20. Troy Fraker, 21. Brad Franks, 22. Greg Hodnett, 23. Lucas Wolfe, 24. Davey Jones

Late models, 25 laps: 1. Gregg Satterlee, 2. Rick Singleton, 3. Gene Knaub, 4. Dylan Yoder, 5. Matt Cosner, 6. Bryan Bernheisel, 7. Gary Stuhler, 8. Coleby Frye, 9. Jim Bernheisel, 10. Trent Brenneman, 11. Billy Wampler. 12. Mike Lupfer, 13. Danny Snyder, 14. Pancho Lawler, 15. Ryan Walls, 16. Ross Robinson, 17. Larry Baer, 18. Kyle Hardy

DNS: Chad Hollenbeck, Chris Casner