York County coroner IDs man who died after York City shooting

WRESTLING: Spring Grove outlasts Dallastown to clinch another York-Adams Division I title

Steve Heiser
York Dispatch
  • Spring Grove edged Dallastown 31-29 on Saturday in York-Adams Division I wrestling action.
  • The win gave the Rockets their 10th D-I crown in the last 11 years.
  • Spring Grove is No. 2 in the latest District 3 Class 3-A wrestling power ratings.

The Spring Grove wrestling dynasty still reigns over York-Adams Division I.


But it wasn't easy.

The Rockets outlasted Dallastown 31-29 on Saturday night, Jan. 27, to clinch its 10th Division I championship over the past 11 seasons. Spring Grove has now won three-straight D-I crowns.

The Rockets improved to 20-0 overall this season and finished 6-0 in Division I. Dallastown fell to 13-3 and 4-2.

Spring Grove picked up pins from Dalton Rohrbaugh at 126 pounds and Jake Meyer at 145. Dallastown got falls from Jamal Brandon at 220 and Raymond Christas at 285. Rohrbaugh remained unbeaten on the season.

Spring Grove finished second in the District 3 Class 3-A power ratings, behind only Manheim Central (12-1). The Rockets will host first- and second-round district matches on Tuesday, Jan. 30. The top four seeds in the final power ratings will host first- and second-round matches.

In the first round at 6 p.m. Tuesday, the Rockets will face No. 15 seed Penn Manor (13-4). In the quarterfinals, the winner of the Spring Grove-Penn Manor match will meet the winner of Tuesday's other first-round contest at Spring Grove between No. 10 Gettysburg (13-3) and No. 7 Cocalico (14-2). The quarterfinal contest will start at approximately 7:30 p.m. Tuesday.

Spring Grove will then play host to the 3-A semifinals and consolation matches on Thursday, Feb. 1.

Dallastown (13-3) finished ninth in the power ratings. In the first round Tuesday, the Wildcats will battle No. 8 Northern York (10-1) at 6 p.m. at Manheim Central. The host school faces No. 16 Gov. Mifflin (14-7) in the other first-round conest. The first-round winners will meet at approximately 7:30 p.m. Tuesday at Manheim Central.

The other York-Adams team in 3-A is No. 5 New Oxford (13-3), which will face No. 12 Garden Spot (10-2) at Cedar Cliff at 6 p.m. Tuesday in a first-round match. The winner of that match will face the winner of the match between No. 4 Cedar Cliff (16-1) and No. 5 Exeter (14-5) at approximately 7:30 p.m. Tuesday at Cedar Cliff.

In Class 2-A, eight teams made the district field. The York-Adams 2-A teams in the top eight are No. 6 Bermudian Springs (14-6) and No. 8 Kennard-Dale (10-4).

In the quarterfinals at 6 p.m. Wednesday, Jan. 31, Bermudian will meet No. 3 Northern Lebanon (17-0) at Bishop McDevitt. The winner of the Bermudian-Northern Lebanon match will face the winner of the quarterfinal between No. 2 McDevitt (16-1) and No. 7 Camp Hill (12-5) at approximately 7:30 p.m. Wednesday at McDevitt.

K-D, meanwhile, has a quarterfinal battle at No. 1 Upper Dauphin (13-0) at 6 p.m. Wednesday. The winner will meet the winner of the quarterfinal between No. 4 Boiling Springs (9-0) and No. 5 Hamburg (19-2) at approximately 7:30 p.m. Wednesday at Upper Dauphin.

The championship and third-place matches in 3-A and 2-A are set for Saturday, Feb. 3, at the Spartan Center at Milton Hershey High School.

Gettysburg has clinched the Y-A D-II wrestling crown, while Bermudian won the D-III title. The Warriors have won two straight division titles. Bermudian, meanwhile, has won 11 division crowns in the last 12 years, including eight straight.



Central York's Wolfgram wins Coal Cracker title: Central York's Michael Wolfgram remained unbeaten on the season by winning the 285-pound championship at the Coal Cracker Tournament over the weekend at Panther Valley High School in Lansford, Pennsylvania.

Wolfgram (27-0) earned five pins in five matches en route to the crown.

Logan Paluch (20-8) took second at 126 for Central, earning two pins and two decisions before dropping an 8-2 decision to Midd-West's Avery Bassett in the title match.

Other place-winners for Central were: Tyler Schaller, fourth at 113; Mason Myers, fifth at 132; Antonio Rivera, sixth at 170; and Brett Morgan, seventh at 138.

Central finished fourth overall as a team in the 32-team tournament. Midd-West won the championship, followed by Northwestern Lehigh and Notre Dame-Green Pond.

Steve Heiser is sports editor of The York Dispatch. He can be reached at sheiser@yorkdispatch.com. This story was updated to include the sites and times for this week's District 3 matches.