YORK-ADAMS GIRLS' SOCCER ALL-STARS: Central York's Wood, Webb earn top honors in D-I

Central York goalkeeper Morgan Wood is seen here making a save in a file photo. Wood is the York-Adams League Division I Player of the Year.
  • Central York goalie Morgan Wood is the York-Adams Division I Player of the Year.
  • Central York's Eric Webb is the York-Adams Division I Coach of the Year.
  • Wood and Webb helped Central win a fourth straight league championship.

The 2019 girls’ soccer season didn't start, or end, the way that Central York coach Eric Webb envisioned.

Allowing three goals in a 3-3 tie against Central Dauphin to begin the season was certainly unexpected.

Seeing the team’s successful season conclude in penalty kicks was another gut-wrenching moment for Webb.

In between, however, there were not a lot of things that Webb could complain about.

The Division I champion Panthers captured the program’s fourth consecutive York-Adams League title while claiming the No. 6 seed in the District 3 Class 4-A playoffs. A first-round victory over arch-rival Dallastown in districts was another memorable achievement for the CY girls.

Individually, the season was also a success for the Central York girls. Headlined by Division I Player of the Year Morgan Wood, nine CY players were named by the coaches as either first-team or second-team all-stars in Division I.

Webb, meanwhile, was selected the division's coach of the year.

Wood, a junior goalie, helped the Panthers record 14 shutout victories this season, including a 3-0 victory over Dallastown in districts. That victory was a little bit sweeter for the CY standout considering she gave up the game-winning goal in OT in the regular-season finale against the Wildcats.

“It was my fault,” Wood said of allowing the OT winner on Senior Night. “So it was definitely redemption.”

William and Mary recruit: A William and Mary recruit, Wood’s dominance all season long paid off in more ways than just as a goal-stopper, according to Webb.

“Having her allowed us to free up the attack a little bit more,” Webb said. “And to do some things that maybe we normally wouldn’t be able to do just because she was so strong.”

Wood’s teammates certainly were uplifted by their strong goalkeeper. The fear of making a mistake was reduced because Wood was nearly always up to the challenge to prevent any of those miscues from really hurting.

“She just provided confidence to all of the girls out there on the field,” Webb said. “Everyone knew that she was back there to make the big save in a key point in the game and she did that numerous times for us.”

In addition to Wood, teammates Maddie Davis, Ava Myers, Chole Carns and Makenzie Stephens were all named to the first-team squad. Sydney Koncsol, Britlyn Higgins, Anya Schnetzka and Kaitlyn Naylor were all included on the second team.

Many of those all-stars were part of a group of eight seniors that led the squad to those four straight Y-A titles. Higgins, Carns, Schnetzka, Davis and Koncsol and the other seniors will all be missed by Webb.

“They were integral in helping us win those four league titles,” Webb said. “And integral in helping us win the Division I championship two years ago and again this year. We twice made it to the quarterfinals of districts with that group. We weren’t competitive in districts four years ago and they made this team really competitive in district play.”

Wood, who will be a senior next season, felt that Webb’s honor was also well deserved.

“He’s been a great coach all three years that I’ve had him,” Wood said. “So he definitely deserved the award.”

Division II and Division III: After capturing the Division II title for the first time this season, the Gettysburg girls were honored with three players making the all-star teams.

Lora Bertram was named the division’s top player, while Warriors coach Josh Fissel was named coach of the year.

While Fairfield won the Division III title with a 14-0 mark, the top awards in the division were each awarded to the Biglerville girls. Danielle Cramer was named coach of the year after leading the Canners to an 11-2-1 mark in division play.

Biglerville’s Abby Rodgers was named the D-III player of the year.

Reach Ryan Vandersloot at



Coach of the Year: Eric Webb, Central York.

Player of Year: Morgan Wood, Central York.

First Team

Carly Kibler, Spring Grove.

Chaney Golden, Northeastern.

Megan Elzinga, Northeastern.

Kyla Brossoit, South Western.

Maddie Davis, Central York.

Makenzie Stephens, Central York.

Ava Myers, Central York.

Chloe Carns, Central York.

Delaney Bittner, Red Lion.

Ashley Robinson, Dallastown.

Second Team

Camryn Kurilla, Northeastern.

Logan Jennings, Northeastern.

Katie Snelbaker, Northeastern.

Hannah Messner, South Western.

Bella Gilberto, South Western.

Sydney Koncsol, Central York.

Britlyn Higgins, Central York.

Kaitlyn Naylor, Central York.

Kirstan Strong, Red Lion.

Myra Steibig, Dallastown.

Anya Schnetzka, Central York.


Coach of the Year: Josh Fissel, Gettysburg.

Player of the Year: Lora Bertram, Gettysburg.

First Team

Nyah Hood, York Suburban.

Brooke Sargen, York Suburban.

Ashlynn Weger, Susquehannock. 

Lilly Denis, Susquehannock. 

Lydia Gable, Kennard-Dale.

Brianna Mack, Kennard-Dale.

Grace Floreck, Gettysburg. 

Ali Harvey, Gettysburg. 

Cierra Miller, Dover.

Alexis Miller, West York.

Makenna Sutherland, Eastern York. 

Second Team

Abigail Wiland, Kennard-Dale.

Maddy Gaydon, Gettysburg. 

Shelby Derkosh, Susquehannock. 

Jordan Prediger, Susquehannock. 

Katlyn Krebs, Susquehannock. 

Katie Wand, York Suburban.

Katie Heiner, York Suburban. 

Abigail Henise, Eastern York.

Cassidy Shetter, Eastern York.

Alyssa Denney, West York.

Jaelynn Small, West York.

Maya Fetrow, Dover.


Coach of the Year: Danielle Cramer, Biglerville.

Player of the Year: Abigail Rodgers, Biglerville.

First Team

Annabel Anderson, Fairfield.

Milly Heinbaugh, Fairfield.

Naia Roberts, Fairfield.

Kylie Kane, Biglerville.

Julia Haines, Biglerville.

Briaunna Kress, Littlestown.

Hannah Wheeler, Littlestown.

Sydney Mentzer, York Catholic.

Bailey Oehmig, Bermudian Springs.

Emily McCann, Delone Catholic.

Second Team

Haley Bolin, Fairfield.

Aislinn Bloom, Bermudian Springs.

Hannah Chenault, Bermudian Springs.

Brayden Ball, Littlestown.

Nora Clarke, Fairfield.

Hailey Slusser, Biglerville.

Katelyn Woolson, Biglerville.

Olivia Topper, Hanover.

Bernie Schintz, York Catholic.

Madison O’Brien, Delone.

Leah Stevens, Littlestown.