The officiating crew that refereed Trinity’s 36-34 win over Annville-Cleona on Friday night, Aug. 25, issued an apology to A-C on Saturday morning, Aug. 26.
The apology was for a wrong and misinterpreted call that resulted in host Trinity going ahead 36-34 in the fourth quarter.
After Trinity’s touchdown tied the game at 34-34, the Shamrocks’ extra-point kick was blocked by Annville-Cleona.
According to Rule 6, Section 2, Article 3 of the PIAA football, “Any K player (player on the kicking team) may catch or recover a scrimmage kick while it is in or behind the neutral zone and advance, unless it is during a try.”
In other words, the play should have been whistled dead when the extra-point try was blocked.
For the complete story, click here.