Eight York-Adams League field hockey teams earn berths in District 3 playoffs

  • Eight York-Adams League field hockey teams have earned berths in the District 3 playoffs.
  • Central York and Dallastown made the 3-A field.
  • South Western, New Oxford and Susquehannock qualified in 2-A.
  • Bermudian Springs, Littlestown and Eastern York will compete in the 1-A playoffs.

Eight York-Adams League field hockey teams have earned spots in the District 3 playoffs.

Dallastown's Natasha Milner clears the ball from in front of the goal during a game vs. Central York on Monday, Oct. 1, 2018. Both the Wildcats and the Panthers have earned berths in the District 3 playoffs. John A. Pavoncello photo

Class 3-A: In the 12-team Class 3-A district field, Central York (14-5) earned the No. 10 seed, while Dallastown (13-6) grabbed the No. 11 spot. Central won the York-Adams Division I regular-season title, while Dallastown finished second. Lower Dauphin (16-1-1) is the No. 1 district seed in 3-A.

In Wednesday's first round, Central meets No. 7 Central Dauphin (12-5) at Kreiser-Hallman Field at Lower Dauphin High School at 7:30 p.m., while Dallastown faces No. 6 Cumberland Valley (13-5) at John Frederick Field Memorial Park in Mechanicsburg at 7 p.m.

The top four finishers from District 3 3-A will advance to the state playoffs.

Prep roundup, Tuesday, Oct. 16: 'Cats move on

Class 2-A: In the 16-team 2-A district bracket, South Western (13-6) is seeded No. 8, New Oxford (12-6-1) is No. 10 and Susquehannock (8-9) is No. 16. South Western and New Oxford shared the Y-A D-II championship. Donegal (19-) is the No. 1 seed in District 3 2-A.

In Wednesday's first round: South Western meets No. 9 Northern York (12-5-1) at 7 p.m. at Bermudian Springs; New Oxford takes on No. 7 Lampeter-Strasburg at 5 p.m. at Penn Manor High School in Millersville; and Susquehannock battles No. 1 Donegal at 7 p.m. at Penn Manor.

The top six finishers from District 3 2-A move on to the PIAA tournament.

Class 1-A: In the 14-team 1-A district tournament, Bermudian Springs (18-0-1) is seeded No. 2, Littlestown (13-5-1) is No. 9 and Eastern York (12-6) is No. 12. Greenwood (16-1) is the No. 1 seed. Bermudian took the Y-A D-III crown, while Littlestown grabbed the D-IV title.

Bermudian gets a bye Wednesday in the first round. In the quarterfinals on Saturday, Oct. 27, the Eagles will meet the winner of Wednesday's game between No. 7 Annville-Cleona (14-5) and No. 10 Bishop McDevitt (11-6). In Wednesday's first round, Littlestown meets No. 8 Boiling Springs (12-6) at 5 p.m. at Bermudian and Eastern takes on No. 5 ELCO (14-3-2) at 5 p.m. at Donegal High School in Mount Joy.

The top five finishers from District 3 1-A advance to the state playoffs.

For the complete District 3 field hockey brackets, click here.