BOYS' SOCCER ALL-STARS: Northeastern, Susquehannock, York Catholic take top awards

  • Northeastern's Alex Afata is the York-Adams Division I Player of the Year.
  • Susquehannock's Fallou Cisse is the York-Adams Division II Player of the Year.
  • York Catholic's Jon Yinger is the York-Adams Division III Player of the Year.
Northeastern's Alex Afata, right, is the York-Adams Division I Boys' Soccer Player of the Year.

Northeastern, Susquehannock and York Catholic dominated the 2020 York-Adams League boys' soccer season.

Not surprisingly, when it came time for the York-Adams coaches to make their postseason division selections for the league's top players and coaches, those three teams again dominated.

Combined, those three programs went 35-2-1 in the 2020 regular season.

Northeastern swept the awards in Division I, with player-of-the-year honors going to senior Alex Afata and coach-of-the-year accolades going to Eric Shoemaker.

In Division II, Susquehannock junior Fallou Cisse was recognized as the division's top player, while the Warriors' Brett Maxwell was named the top coach.

Like what you're reading?:Not a subscriber? Click here for full access to The York Dispatch.

York Catholic took the Division III honors, with senior Jon Yinger named the player of the year and Joe Nattans selected the coach of the year.

Afata finished off a standout career with 19 goals and five assists in 15 matches played in 2020. It was the third straight season when he averaged at least one goal per game. He finished his career with 64 goals and 15 assists in 74 matches. Afata is now a three-time D-I all-star.

Shoemaker guided the Bobcats to the D-I championship with a 12-2-0 regular-season mark. It was Northeastern's first division title since 2005. The Bobcats also qualified for the District 3 Class 4-A playoffs as the No. 5 seed.

Susquehannock's Fallou Cisse, left, is the York-Adams Division II Player of the Year.

Cisse piled up 19 goals and nine assists for Susquehannock. In just three varsity seasons, he has 30 goals and 27 assists. He is now a two-time D-II all-star.

Maxwell, meanwhile, guided the Warriors to a 12-0-0 regular season and the D-II crown. It was the Warriors' fourth consecutive division crown. Susquehannock also garnered the No. 1 seed in the District 3 Class 3-A playoffs and advanced to the district semifinals.

York Catholic's Jon Yinger, right, is the York-Adams Division III Player of the Year.

Yinger, now a two-time D-II all-star, had 11 goals and eights assists in 2020 for York Catholic and finished his career with 36 goals and 28 assists. 

Nattans led York Catholic to an 11-0-1 regular-season record and the D-III crown. The Irish earned the No. 3 seed in the District 3 Class 1-A playoffs before falling in the district semifinals.

— Reach Steve Heiser at

GIRLS' SOCCER ALL-STARS: Three senior standouts earn York-Adams player-of-year honors


Division I

Player of the Year: Alex Afata, Northeastern.

Coach of the Year: Eric Shoemaker, Northeastern.

First Team

Jacob Kramer, Red Lion.

T.J. Succop, Red Lion.

Brayan Rivero-Serrano, York High.

Ethan Ness, Central York.

Connor Wivagg, Central York.

Gavin Connors, Dallastown.

Blake Pitzer, Dallastown.

Joey Thomas, Dallastown.

Mitchell Groh, Dallastown.

Liam Gohn, Spring Grove.

Owen Myers, Spring Grove.

Sam Gatchell, Northeastern.

Alex Afata, Northeastern.

Evan Gibbs, Northeastern.

Joshua Taylor, Northeastern.

Troy Billingslea, Northeastern.

Brandon Shirk, Northeastern.

Dom Barrett, South Western.

Jaeger James, Dover.

Andrew Crompton, Dover.

Second Team

Gabe Trevino, Red Lion.

Sean Barley, Red Lion.

Tyler Wood, Red Lion.

Nate Kimball, Central York.

Ethan Firth, Central York.

Gavin Farling, Central York.

Holger Lozano, Central York.

Zander Leik, Dallastown.

Ty Mazzarella, Dallastown.

Kaden Kashner, Dallastown.

Joe Hanuska, Dallastown.

Jonathan Hill, Spring Grove.

Zach Albright, Spring Grove.

Brian Warcholak, Northeastern.

Caleb Snyder, Northeastern.

Seth Sidle, Northeastern.

Brian Warrender, Northeastern.

Marcus Barney, South Western.

Charles Ezibe, Dover.

Bradyn Yerges, Dover.

Division II

Player of the Year: Fallou Cisse, Susquehannock.

Coach of the Year: Brett Maxwell, Susquehannock.

First Team         

Fallou Cisse, Susquehannock.

Ashton Murray, Susquehannock.

Nick Holloway, Susquehannock.

Jake O'Brien, West York.

Noah Murray, West York.

Parker Lando, York Suburban.

Danny Gartner, York Suburban.

Leon Bellenbaum, York Suburban.

Francisco Sandoval, Gettsyburg.

Miguel Salazar, New Oxford.

Ethan Nikolaus, Eastern York.

Second Team

Aaron Filsinger,  Susquehannock.

Mason Kaifer, Susquehannock.

Ben Geller, West York.

Justin Stough, West York.

Jared Russell, West York.

Ethan Smyser, West York.

Brooks Coughenour, York Suburban.

Bryson Neidigh, York Suburban.

Seth Hassinger, Gettysburg.

Ian Bellinger, Gettysburg.

Brady Logue, Kennard-Dale.

Tyler Nagel, Kennard-Dale.

Reece Cramer, New Oxford.

Julius Heiland, Eastern York.

Division III

Player of the Year: Jon Yinger, York Catholic.

Coach of the Year: Joe Nattans, York Catholic.

First Team

Jon Yinger, York Catholic.

Colin Smith, York Catholic.

Dylan Staub, York Catholic.

Kyle Kuykendall, Bermudian Springs.

Charles Sebright, Bermudian Springs.

Nate Snyder, Fairfield.

Marcus Pruy, Fairfield.

Joshua Blouse, Littlestown.

Colin Denault, Littlestown.

Aldo Garcia, Biglerville.

Dalton Reinert, Bermudian Springs.

Second Team

Nick Phillips, York Catholic.

Nathan Anthony, York Catholic.

Riley Santiago, York Catholic.

Alex Hernandez, Bermudian Springs.

Eric Ball, Fairfield.

Chazden Kline, Fairfield.

Kevin Orihuela, Biglerville.

Drew Parker, Biglerville.

Devon Boyd, Delone Catholic.

Kyle Garman, Hanover.

Diego Guzman, Littlestown.

John Weisser, York Catholic.