Six New Oxford boys' basketball players earn $78,000 in Gretchen Wolf Swartz scholarships

Jaren Rex

Six New Oxford senior boys' basketball players will have nearly $80,000 to help with their college expenses.

Representatives of the Gretchen Wolf Swartz Scholarship Fund presented awards totaling $78,000 to six Colonials during the school’s athletic awards program on Wednesday night.

The fund has now awarded more than $500,000 in scholarships in less than two decades of existence.

Jaren Rex received a $20,000 scholarship and Chase Nell was awarded an $18,000 scholarship. Justin Gruver, Brian Klunk, Cameron Krebs and Auden Ledden each received a $10,000 scholarship.

Each year, Gretchen Wolf Swartz Sportsmanship Awards go to a York-Adams League boys' and girls' basketball program in recognition of outstanding sportsmanship.

Winning programs are determined by a vote of York-area basketball officials after observing the season-long conduct of players, fans, faculty, students, managers, coaches and cheerleaders from the junior high through varsity levels. Each winning school receives a traveling trophy in recognition of its accomplishment.

The seniors from each winning program are then eligible to win scholarships. Winners are determined by the fund’s board of directors after reviewing applications and transcripts and conducting candidate interviews.

The number of awards and dollar amounts presented are determined each year by the board members.

This is the second time in three years that the New Oxford boys won the award.

Rex plans to attend Virginia Tech University, Nell is attending Drexel University, Gruver is headed to Millersville University, Klunk hopes to attend Icon Collective (a music production school in Los Angeles), Krebs is going to Elizabethtown College and Ledden will attend Rochester Institute of Technology.

York High School was this year’s winner on the girls’ side. It was earlier announced that Jae Fitch would get a $20,000 scholarship and Adrionna Harris would get an $18,000 scholarship. It was the first time that the York High girls earned the honor.

Gretchen Wolf Swartz was a York County basketball official from 1981 to 1995. Following her death from leukemia in 1997, her fellow officials created the memorial team awards and a scholarship fund to honor her.

When South Western earned the first Swartz award in 2001, only one $1,000 scholarship was awarded. 

Reach Steve Heiser at