Gretchen Wolf Swartz scholarship winners announced

  • Susquehannock's Victoria Acton and Hanover's Kyle Krout won $20,000 awards.

When Susquehannock senior Victoria Acton heads to York College this fall, she'll do so with a $20,000 head start, thanks to winning a Gretchen Wolf Swartz scholarship recently.

Acton's Warriors were the girls' team winner in the scholarship competition, with Hanover the boys' winner.

Patrick Lannon, a Gretchen Wolf Swartz Sportsmanship Award board member and a former winner of the award, presents a $20,000 scholarship award to Susquehannock's Victoria Acton.

Gretchen Wolf Swartz was a York County basketball official from 1981 through 1995. Following her death from leukemia in 1997, her fellow officials created the memorial team awards and a scholarship fund to promote and honor the sportsmanship she championed.

Each year, at season's end, the York-Adams basketball officials vote to recognize one boys' and one girls' program. The winning program is recognized for displaying the highest conduct all season long on many levels, including its players, fans, faculty, students, managers, coaches and cheerleaders, ranging from junior high through varsity. Players from the winning programs are then honored with scholarships.

Acton plans to attend York College. She competed for the Warriors in basketball, track and soccer all four years and was a member of the National Honor Society. She's also done youth mission trips to Michigan.

The Warriors' Ashley Stone took home $15,000 after competing all four years on the school's basketball and soccer teams. Stone, a member of the National Honor Society, will attend Shippensburg University this fall.

Lily Yoakum, a girls' basketball varsity manager, was given $10,000 to attend Philadelphia Univeristy. Yoakum also played softball and managed for the varsity soccer program at Susquehannock.

There were only three girls' applicants from Susquehannock, so the $5,000 girls' scholarship was not awarded.

Hanover: For Hanover, team captain Kyle Krout was the $20,000 award winner. Krout, who will attend Juniata College, started every varsity game for four years and was an All-York-Adams League Division III first-team selection this season. Krout was also in the top 10 in his class and a member of the National Honor Society.

Teammate Will McQueen took home the $15,000 prize. Also a captain this season, McQueen plans to attend St. Joseph's University, where he hopes to study business management and business intelligence analytics.

Ben Hutton, a four-year statistician for the team, was awarded $10,000 to attend the University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown.

Also representing the Nighthawks was four-year cheerleader Saranda Gerlach, who will take her $5,000 scholarship to West Virginia University. Gerlach, selected an All-American by the Universal Cheerleaders Association, was also a two-year volleyball team captain and two-year captain on the track and field team.

The total amount awarded this year reflects a continued exponential growth over recent years. This year's total of $95,000 far eclipses last year's mark of $30,000. The year before that saw a total of $20,000 awarded.

The first scholarships — both in the amount of $1,000 — were awarded in 2001.