Five Canners win $51,000 in Swartz Scholarships


Five senior members of the Biglerville High School girls’ basketball team were recently awarded Gretchen Wolf Swartz Scholarships totaling $51,000.


The awards were presented during the school’s Senior Awards Banquet held last week at the high school.

Gretchen Wolf Swartz Sportsmanship Awards are annually presented to York-Adams League boys’ and girls’ athletic programs in recognition of outstanding sportsmanship. Winning programs are determined by a vote of York-area basketball officials after observing the season-long conduct of players, fans, faculty, students, managers, coaches and cheerleaders from levels ranging from junior high through varsity.

Gretchen Wolf Swartz was a York County basketball official from 1981 to 1995. Following her death from leukemia in 1997, her fellow officials created the memorial team awards and a scholarship fund to honor her memory and sportsmanship. The first scholarships — both in the amount of $1,000 — were awarded in 2001. More than $200,000 in scholarship money has since been awarded.

Winning schools receive a traveling trophy as well. In order to win a scholarship, a student must be in his or her senior year. The winners are chosen by the scholarship fund’s board of directors after reviewing applications, transcripts and conducting candidate interviews.

For the Canners, Elizabeth Byrnes Burke received a $20,000 scholarship, Allison Sowers was awarded $15,000, Madeline D. Kuhn received $10,000, Elizabeth Shreve took home $5,000 and Courtney Taylor received a scholarship worth $1,000.

Burke plans to attend Ursinus College while Sowers is headed Bloomsburg University and Kuhn will study at Penn State Mont Alto. Shreve and Taylor both are going to York College.

New Oxford High School was this year’s winner on the boys’ side.

This year, the Gretchen Wolf Swartz Sportsmanship Fund awarded $104,000 in local scholarships.