QB Club names scholarship winners


The Quarterback Club of York has selected its 2016 scholarship winners.

Dallastown's Jacob Jansen, right, the York-Adams League Division I Player of the Year, will be honored at the Quarterback Club of York banquet on Monday, Feb. 8.

Spring Grove's Nickolas Erickson has earned the $4,000 Charles Larson Memorial Scholarship, which is spread over four years and good for $1,000 each year.

Dallastown's Tessa Myers won the $1,000 Sandy Kranich Memorial Scholarship and York Suburban's Emma Leik captured the $1,000 Thomas V. Chatman Jr. Memorial Scholarship.

The scholarship winners will be recognized at the QB Club of York banquet, set for Monday, Feb. 8, at San Carlos Restaurant on Route 30 in York.

Also recognized that night will be the York-Adams League football players of the year: Dallastown's Jacob Jansen in Division I, Suburban's Thomas Merkle in Division II and Hanover's Kyle Krout in Division III.

The banquet will have a social hour starting at 6 p.m., followed by a dinner at 7 p.m. The presentation of awards will follow dinner.

The guest speaker for the night will Tom Peifer, the head coach of the 2015 Red Land Little League team, which won the U.S. Championship this summer at Little League World Series.

Tickets, costing $35, can be purchased by check payable to the Quarterback Club of York and mailed to Gary Orndorff, 2381 Hartford Road, York, Pa., 17402. The deadline is Jan. 31.

For information, cal Roy Robbins at (717) 244-7933.