HOUSEHOLDER: Driver who captured numerous late-model titles on regional circuit dies at 63

  • Late-model driver Nathan Durboraw died recently at age 63.
  • Durboraw won eight super-late-model titles at Hagerstown Speedway.
  • Durboraw won 72 of his 111 career super-late-model wins at Hagerstown Speedway.
Nathan Durboraw

It's time to look at this year’s local stock-car champions.

First, however, I have to start by saying goodbye to a driver who has appeared in these rundowns on numerous occasions.

Nathan Durboraw died last week after a long battle with cancer. He was 63.

Durboraw first appeared on the local racing radar when barely out of his teenage years, when he began winning regularly in the old challenger class around the area in the mid-to-late 1970s.

That class, which evolved into the limited-late models that we know today, saw Durboraw claim numerous wins at Williams Grove Speedway, Selinsgrove Speedway and his home track in Hagerstown, Maryland. He won three Hagerstown Speedway titles and one at Williams Grove before moving up into the super-late models.

Success followed Durboraw into the super-late models, where he was an eight-time champion at Hagerstown, where he claimed 72 of his 111 super-late-model wins

Durboraw owned and operated M&N Durboraw and Sons Excavating in Hagerstown.

The champions: Looking at the super-late-model champions from around the area in this weird year, Jeff Rine was again a multi-time late-model champion. He wrapped yet another title at Bedford Speedway and also claimed the title in the abbreviated season at Selinsgrove. Rine now has 112 wins at Selinsgrove, where his is a 12-time champion.

Andy Haus seems to have picked up where his father, Scott, left off at Port Royal Speedway. Haus won this year’s super-late title at the Port — his second at a track where his father owns eight titles and is the career win leader with 95.

Like what you're reading?:Not a subscriber? Click here for full access to The York Dispatch.

In limited-late-model competition, Troy Miller raced to his first BAPS Motor Speedway point title with three wins there this year.

Andrew Yoder secured limited-late point titles at both Port Royal and Clinton County speedways this season. Yoder was the big winner in the area with 12 wins — including four at the Port and three at Clinton County — on his way to those titles.

Derrick Quade won limited-late titles at Potomac and Winchester.

Jasen Geesaman won the street-stock point title at BAPS Motor Speedway this season. Geesaman won twice at BAPS on his way to his second title there in three years. Patrick McClane was the BAPS extreme-stock point champion. McClane won there four times this year.

At Trailway Speedway, Jimmy Combs won the street-stock point title this season. Combs won once at Trailway this season.

Vermeil at EMMR: The Eastern Museum of Motor Racing will be hosting a holiday open house this weekend at the museum near York Springs.

Saturday is drag-racing day at the museum, while Sunday is dirt-track day.

There will be an interesting topic on Sunday, when former Philadelphia Eagles head coach Dick Vermeil will be on hand. While Vermeil’s career led him to football and a legendary career, his roots are strongly in dirt-track sprint-car racing.

HOUSEHOLDER: Danny Dietrich continues his championship reign on local 410 sprint circuit

Vermeil’s father, Lewis, fielded a sprint team for nearly 40 years, starting before World War II when the cars were actually called “Big Cars.”

Vermeil has restored “Black Beauty,” the black No. 7 car that his father fielded from 1949-1954. It's a car with a history dating back to 1926.

Vermeil admits that, growing up, he wanted to be a sprint driver.

Not happening: While it appears as if the holiday open house at EMMR will go on as planned, there are many other events that won’t be happening this winter. 

That includes the York County Racing Club’s annual Christmas party, which was set for this coming Sunday.

The YCRC will also join most local tracks in postponing its annual hall-of-fame banquet, which had been set for early January. While the banquet will not be held this year, keep tuned to the YCRC’s social-media sites. That's where this year’s hall-of-fame inductees will be announced. Those folks will be honored properly at the 2022 hall-of-fame banquet.

Bryan Householder writes about dirt-track racing for The York Dispatch. He can be reached at