HOUSEHOLDER: BAPS Motor Speedway sprint program features lots of drivers, exciting racing

  • Chase Dietz won the 410 sprint feature at BAPS Motor Speedway on Saturday.
  • It the first win for the York driver in the 410 sprints at BAPS.
  • Chad Layton won the URC 358/360 sprint challenge at BAPS.
Chad Layton

The local racing season is definitely winding down.

Still, however, there are about four weeks of racing remaining on the local tracks, plus a big event that many local racers will attend in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Last Saturday's program at BAPS Motor Speedway was well attended by the racers, with 26 410 sprints on hand. In addition, there were nearly 40 cars for the United Racing Club 358/360 sprint challenge. Both races were very exciting, with plenty of passing.

In the end, Chase Dietz got his first BAPS 410 sprint win. The youngster from York had to pass some very good cars and then had to hold back the challenges of another. The URC race saw Chad Layton get the win after a stirring battle with Ryan Smith.

While the win was Dietz’s first in the 410 sprints at BAPS, he does own four 358 sprint wins there. While Layton’s URC win was his first in a 360 sprint at the track, he has won there three times in the 410 sprints.

There were four drivers who competed in both events. Smith finished second in the 410 race and third with URC, both in Michael Heffner-owned cars.

Brock Zearfoss was fourth in both races. Surprisingly, Zearfoss drove Ryan Linder’s car with the 410 sprints and ran his own family-owned car in the URC event.

Lucas Wolfe drove the Barshinger car to fifth in the 410 race and was seventh in the URC race with the Allebach machine.

Chase Dietz

Freddie Rahmer was leading the 410 race when he made a mistake in lapped traffic and hit the first-turn fence with his family-owned car. He then came back with the Specialty Rigging car to move from eighth to second in the URC race.

The Mackison brothers, Hunter and Jordan, made their first race of the season at the track where their grandfather, Johnny Mackison Sr., is still the all-time win leader with 35. Their father, Johnny Mackison Jr., also owns two wins there. Maternal grandfather Larry Hare owns two late-model wins, two limited-late-model wins, two semi-late wins and one Xtreme stock win at BAPS.


This weekend: Three events grace this weekend’s racing schedule. 

BAPS hosts a two-day event for the area’s support classes. Port Royal Speedway has Open Wheel Madness and Thunder on the Hill invades Grandview Speedway.

BAPS racing action starts on Friday with qualifying for the street stocks, Xtreme stocks and road warriors, along with full programs for the PASS 305 sprints, and legends. The PennMar vintage cars will also be on hand.

Things wind up on Saturday with the main events for the street stocks, Xtreme stocks and road warriors. Also on the Saturday program are the legends, and sportsman modifieds.

Port Royal’s Saturday show will feature three classes of open-wheel race cars. The 410 sprints are joined by the URC 360 sprints and the PASS 305 sprints. This will be the sprints' final tune-up for the two-day World of Outlaws show the following week.

Grandview wraps up the 30th season of Thunder on the Hill with modifieds, sportsman modifieds and the MASS 305 sprints.

1991: The season was still going strong in 1991 by this time.

 A special show at Path Valley Speedway on Friday evening saw Randy Wolfe score his eighth win of the season in Ted Gano’s No. 57.

Then on Saturday, Lincoln presented twin 20s, with Donnie Kreitz Jr. wheeling his own No.. 69k and racing to his 16th win of the season in the first race. The second race saw Bobby Fletcher get his second win of the season in his father Harry’s No. 66a.

Winter series: The complete schedule for the Indoor Winter Series of racing has been released.

The three-quarter midgets will race in Allentown on Jan. 3-4, Atlantic City on Jan-31 and Feb. 1 and Syracuse on March 13-14.

The 600cc micro sprints will race on the dirt at Trenton on Feb. 21-22.

The twos: Lincoln’s Ice Breaker for the sprint cars in 2020 is set for Feb. 22.

Note the date and time is at: 2/22/20 at 2 p.m.

Bryan Householder writes about dirt-track racing for The York Dispatch. He can be reached at



Presented by

(Wins in parenthesis)

1. Danny Dietrich (12)          1,742

2. Freddie Rahmer (9)          1,188

3. Brian Montieth (5)             1,082

4. Lance Dewease (9)           912

5. Ryan Smith (1)                   884

6. Anthony Macri (2)               866

7. Lucas Wolfe (5)                  865

8. Logan Wagner (6)              748

9. Kyle Moody (2)                   545

10. Cory Haas (2)                   520