HOUSEHOLDER: York's Rick Eckert to return to area for World of Outlaws' late-model events

  • The World of Outlaws' late-model racers will compete in the area this weekend.
  • The WoO late models will be at Williams Grove on Friday and Port Royal on Saturday.
  • York's Rick Eckert is expected to return to the area for the WoO late-model events.

The other World of Outlaws group will make a trek through the area this coming weekend.

York's Rick Eckert will return to the area this weekend with the World of Outlaws' sprint cars. DISPATCH FILE PHOTO

The Outlaws' late models will make a Northeast swing that brings them to two local tracks.

Things actually kick off on Thursday evening when the WoO late models visit Georgetown Speedway in Delaware. The series then moves to three days in Pennsylvania.

First off is a Friday evening program at Williams Grove Speedway when the WoO late models join the Grove’s regular 410 sprint cars in a special event.  The late-model race will be a homecoming of sorts and will offer $10,000 to the winner.

The very first Outlaws' late-model event was held at “the Grove” on April 22, 1988. Larry Phillips drove to victory that night. It will also be a homecoming for one of this area’s very best late-model racers.

York’s Rick Eckert has been a regular with the Outlaws' late-model group since the organization was reintroduced more than a decade ago. Eckert was the series' 2011 champion and sits sixth in the series standings for 2018. He also finished second in the WoO late-model point chase in 2012 and 2014.

Eckert is fifth all time in Outlaws' late-models wins with 37. He also owns six career Williams Grove wins.

After the Grove on Friday evening, the Outlaws' late models move to Port Royal Speedway on Saturday, where they again share the billing with the local sprint cars.  After that it’s off to western Pennsylvania's Eriez Speedway on Sunday.


Rest of schedule: The sprint cars race Saturday night at Lincoln Speedway, along with the 358 sprints and the street stocks.

BAPS Motor Speedway is in action on Saturday with the super sportsmen, 305 sprints and the legends racers. Saturday action at Selinsgrove finds the 360 sprints, limited-late models, pro stocks and roadrunners in action.

Sunday, the sprint cars venture to Trailway Speedway for their annual visit there. The 29-lap race is run in honor of speedway founder Armin Hostetter, and also former car owner Bob Weikert, whose cattle business was located just down the road in Fairfield.

Last year, Brian Montieth scored the Trailway sprint win, while in 2016, it was Brent Marks picking up the win. Trailway has hosted sporadic sprint shows since the mid-1970s, with Fred Rahmer leading all drivers with four wins there. Steve Smith has three wins, while Michael Carber, Dub May, Bobby Allen, Jac Haudenschild, Jesse Wentz and Steve Siegel join Montieth and Marks with single victories. Haudenschild’s win came while driving for Weikert.

EMMR event: This weekend will be the third Sunday of the month, and that means the Eastern Museum of Motor Racing will host its Third Sunday Round Table. 

This month’s topic will be Gary Vandergrift, who was an early competitor in what is now the limited-late-model division at Silver Spring Speedway, when it was known as the hobby-stock class.

Vandergrift won four races there, and one of his racers has been restored and is often seen at the Latimore Valley Fairgrounds event.

The EMMR is also just one week away from its annual convention of the Williams Grove Old-Timers. The 44th annual EMMR/WGOT convention will be held from Aug. 24-26 at the Latimore Valley Fairghrounds. This year’s convention will honor the memory of local racing legend Gary Wolford. Longtime EMMR supporter Clarence and Ruth Snavley will be the grand marshals for the weekend.

Many events are planned, and we’ll take a closer look at those next week.

The convention was actually started by late promoter Jack Gunn at Williams Grove Speedway in the 1970s.

1984: On this weekend in 1984, action got started at Williams Grove on Friday evening, when a young, second-generation driver got his first local win of the season. Stevie Smith drove Jeff Creasy’s No. 19 to the victory.

Saturday, Van May drove his Sterner Cement No. 69 to his second consecutive Lincoln win and seventh overall that season. At Port Royal, another second-generation driver scored his first win of the season. Scott Tobias drove the Walter Dyer No. 461 to the Port win. 

At Selinsgrove, it was Doug Wolfgang picking up his third local win of the season since joining the Bob Weikert No. 29 team at midseason.

Sunday, the United Racing Club sprints were racing at Penn National and Dave Kelly squeezed out a slim victory over Donnie Kreitz Jr.

Bryan Householder writes about dirt-track racing for The York Dispatch. He can be reached at



Presented by

1. Greg Hodnett (4)            1079 

2. Lucas Wolfe (5)              948

3. Danny Dietrich (9)          875

4. Freddie Rahmer (4)        833

5. Brian Montieth (6)           723 

6. Lance Dewease (10)      676 

7. Anthony Macri (1)           517 

8. Brock Zearfoss (2)          488 

9. Cory Haas (1)                 378

10. T.J. Stutts                      350