Democrats win control of Pennsylvania House, end GOP rule

Rico Abreu earns breakthrough win in Pennsylvania Sprint Car Speedweek finale

  • Rico Abreu scored his first central Pennsylvania sprint car win on Sunday at Selinsgrove Speedway.
  • Abreu's win was worth $5,000 and came in the Pennsylvania Sprint Car Speedweek finale.

Rico Abreu scored his first central Pennsylvania sprint-car win in the Pennsylvania Speedweek finale on Sunday evening at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Abreu collected $5,000 for his flag-to-flag victory.

FILE - In this Feb. 16, 2016, file photo, truck series driver Rico Abreu answers questions from members of the media during NASCAR media day at Daytona International Speedwayin Daytona Beach, Fla. Abreu  earned a sprint-car victory on Sunday at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Abreu started second and took the lead from Anthony Macri at the start. Macri was closing in lapped traffic when his engine went up in smoke and flames on the 11th lap. Macri was uninjured.

From that point, Abreu held sway over Danny Dietrich, who closed in lapped traffic at the end, but had to settle for second. Dale Blaney, Blane Heimbach and Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Brock Zearfoss, Lucas Wolfe (who claimed his third Speedweek point title), T.J. Stutts, James McFadden and Ryan Smith.

Kyle Ganoe won the 305 sprint feature, over Jaremi Hanson, Zach Newlin, Nathan Gramley and York Haven’s Dave Grube.

Shaun Lawton was the pro-stock winner.

Reach Bryan Householder at