York City police investigating suspicious deaths

HOUSEHOLDER: Former standout drivers now win as owners

  • Lance Dewease won last Saturday’s Tuscarora 50 at Port Royal Speedway.
  • Stevie Smith won the “Night Before the 50" event last Friday at Port Royal.
  • Both Dewease and Smith drive for former standout drivers now turned car owners.

Lance Dewease won last Saturday’s Tuscarora 50 at Port Royal Speedway, while Stevie Smith won the “Night Before the 50" event last Friday.

Seems like a good bet that, when some of the area’s top racers decide to hang up their helmets, they can still produce winning rides.

Fred Rahmer leads all drivers with seven Opening Day wins at Lincoln Speedway.

Dewease drives for Hall of Fame former driver Donnie Kreitz Jr., while Smith races a car fielded by another Hall of Famer, Fred Rahmer.

Dewease’s win in the Tusky 50 was his record fifth in the event. More impressive is that all five have come for different car owners. He has won the race for Walt Dyer, Joe Harz, Al Hamilton, Pete Postupack and now Kreitz.

Dewease had taken the lead in Friday’s race at the Port before being sidelined by mechanical troubles. For the record, Dewease has won 10 times this year in a very limited schedule of 21 races, if I'm not mistaken.

Dellinger: Lewisberry’s Scott Dellinger, meanwhile, seems to have a thing with the Sportsman 100. Dellinger has won 11 races in his career as a super-sportsman driver, and three of them came in the 100, the division’s biggest event.

Miller: Jeremy Miller retired from driving a few years ago to spend more time with his family.

His daughter started driving quarter midgets and Miller spent time helping with that. About a month ago, Miller was offered a deal he couldn’t turn down to return to driving. Friday at Port Royal he was back in victory lane after the late-model feature.

The win was Miller’s 68th in a late model, to go along with literally hundreds of wins in the thundercar and semi-late classes.


This weekend: Selinsgrove Speedway’s Jimmy Nace Memorial National Open highlights this weekend’s racing action.

The new promotional team at Selinsgrove has restructured the event, which will offer $8,000 to win in a purse that offers $1,000 at 10th and $600 to start. Saturday's race will run for 35 laps.

Danny Dietrich won last year’s Nace Memorial, while Fred Rahmer is the leading winner in the event with five wins. Maynard Yingst won the first three National Opens at Selinsgrove back in the early 1980s.

The late models will also compete on the program, with $2,000 to win their event.

For the second week in a row, the super-sportsman racers have a big event. This time they are at Lincoln Speedway. Saturday’s Lawrence Chevrolet Keystone 50 for the sportsman racers will offer $2,500 to win. This year, Lincoln turned over the Sportsman 100 to Susquehanna, but still wanted to offer a big race for the sportsman racers. The legend cars also compete.

DIRT TRACK RACING: Dewease captures Tuscarora 50

The only Friday show in the area is at Williams Grove, where the sprint cars and 358 sprints compete. The 358 sprints will run the H.J. Towing championship race, which offers $2,500 to win. Drivers must have run two shows at the Grove this year to race in the 358 event.

Susquehanna also races on Saturday. This week, the PASS 305 sprints are joined by the ARDC midgets, extreme stock cars, road warriors and minivans at Susky.

Hagerstown offers up the late-model sportsmen, pure stocks, hobby stocks, e-mods and crate late models Saturday.

50 years ago: There was only one double winner on this weekend 50 years ago in 1966. And that driver won both races at the same track. Bobby Gerhart Sr. drove his own Davey Brown-prepared No. 5 to wins in both ends of the Twin 25s at Lincoln on Saturday night. Those wins pushed Gerhart’s win total to seven on the local circuit that year.

The only track to race on Friday that week was Winchester, Virginia, where Jack Denniston scored his 10th win of the season in the $. Port Royal was the only other Saturday show that week, where the legendary Mitch Smith raced to his 22nd win of the season in the Flock Brothers “Flying Tiger” No. 2.

On the Sunday slate, Mack Clingon parked his No. 55 sprint car in victory lane at Williams Grove for his first local win of the season, while Gus Linder was Susquehanna’s winner in the Mickey Banas No. 69 sprinter. The Grove was an afternoon show and Susky ran in the evening. Ray Tilley finished second in both races.

Gerald Chamberlain won Hagerstown’s Sunday show in the Don Rice Ford No. 31 for his seventh win of the season, while out in Everett at South Penn, Muss Weyandt got his seventh win of the season in the $5.

Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.




1. 27 Greg Hodnett  1862 17
2. 48 Danny Dietrich 1353 7
3. 1 Lucas Wolfe  1031 3
4. 21 Brian Montieth 952 5
5. 19M Brent Marks  875 4
6. 87 Alan Krimes  809 2
7. 07 Doug Esh  753 3
8. 69k Lance Dewease 729 10
9. 51s Stevie Smith  704 3
10. 3z Brock Zearfoss 545 2
11. 25 Aaron Ott  540 2
12. 94 Ryan Smith  529
13. 51 Freddie Rahmer 526 2
14. 11c Cory Haas  447
15 52 Austin Hogue  375 1
16. 17B Steve Buckwalter 294 2
17. 12 Blane Heimbach 277 1
18. 16 Gerard McIntyre Jr 273
19. 59 Jim Siegel  258 1
20. 1 Dale Blaney  253 2
21. 20 Ryan Taylor  248
22. 5 Dylan Cisney  243
23. 55 Mike Wagner  227
24. 55K Robbie Kendall 225
25. 15 Adam Wilt  216