HOUSEHOLDER: Williams Grove Old Timers Convention looms

  • The Williams Grove Old Timers Convention is set for this weekend.
  • The 42nd annual event will be held at the Latimore Valley Fairgrounds.
  • The organization was founded by late area promoter Jack Gunn.

The Williams Grove Old Timers Convention will be held this weekend at the Latimore Valley Fairgrounds.

This will mark the 42nd annual WGOT convention.

The Williams Grove Old Timers were founded by late area promoter Jack Gunn in the 1970s. After Gunn died in 1980, a small-but-dedicated group of local racing history buffs got together to keep the idea going.

Over the years, that small group has grown, and prospered, first purchasing the Latimore Valley Fairgrounds, and then building the Eastern Museum of Motor Racing.

Each year the group still invites racers, past and present, to return for the annual convention.

There's lots of bench racing and active track time for vintage race cars on Saturday and Sunday afternoons at the fairgrounds. The vintage racers will also have some track time at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday evening.

A racers' roundtable is planned for Friday afternoon at the museum.


This weekend: The Knoxville Nationals for the sprint cars will draw some top cars from the local circuit this weekend.

Some of the area’s best drivers will vie for sprint-car-racing’s biggest prize. Still, there's plenty of local action.

Friday at Williams Grove, the sprint cars and URC 360 sprint cars compete in a program dedicated to the memory of Jimmy Campbell, who died at the Grove on this weekend last year. Sean Campbell, Jimmy’s brother, has come up with some unique bonus money for both divisions for this program.

Trailway Speedway has the limited-late models headlining its Friday program, which also includes Legends, limited stocks and two classes of street stocks.

Saturday, Lincoln Speedway honors firefighters everywhere with the Brandon Little Memorial Fallen Firefighters Race. The sprint cars will race 33 laps for $5,000 to win. The 358 sprints also race for extra money and the All American Outlaws join the program.

Port Royal Speedway takes this Saturday off for Knoxville, but the 410 sprint cars have a chance to venture down Route 35 for a special program at Selinsgrove. Joining the sprints at Selinsgrove will be the late models, pro stocks and roadrunners.

Hagerstown has late models, late-model sportsmen, pure stocks, hobby stocks and e-mods on Saturday.

Susquehanna Speedway will offer up the URC 360 sprints on Saturday, with limited-late models, road warriors and vintage cars also on the program. Then Susky will be right back in action Sunday night with the start of the Eastern Storm for the USAC National Midget Series.

The USAC Midgets have a four-race local swing. They venture to Path Valley on Monday, Lanco on Tuesday and Lincoln on Wednesday of next week.

The Dream continues: The "Dream Season" for the "Hall of Fame Dream Team" continued Saturday at the "Living Legends Dream Race" at Port Royal.

Lance Dewease, himself a past Living Legends honoree, put the Donnie Kreitz Jr.-owned, Davey Brown-wrenched No. 69k into victory lane at the "Dream Race."

DIRT-TRACK RACING: Dewease wins Dream Race at Port

The win was the ninth of the season for the team, which has now competed in just 17 races during it limited schedule. That’s a better than 50-percent-win average.

Nouse finally breaks through in 2016: Kevin Nouse had been shut out of victory lane in a 358 sprint car for more than a year and a half going into last weekend.

Nouse put an end to that losing streak on Friday when he won at Williams Grove and then backed it up with a win at Lincoln on Saturday.

While it had been a while since Nouse had won in a 358 sprint car, his wins this weekend actually marked the 21st consecutive year he has won a race in some type of race car.

The win Friday had to be special. It came in a leg of the Nouse Signs and Graphics Summer Series for the 358 sprint cars. It's a major series that Nouse has developed and nurtured.

As the series founder, Nouse is involved in all aspects of the series, but this is the first time he’s won one of his own races. A bit superstitious, Nouse noted that while he has to store the event’s unique Tiki Man trophies, he wouldn’t keep them at home, because he wanted to win one for himself.

50 years ago: It was yet another busy weekend on the local racing circuit 50 years ago in 1966.

This time, Ray Tilley and the Bud Grimm No. 88 were on top of their games. Tilley won four times on this weekend and upped his season total to 31 wins. Tilley won at Williams Grove on both Wednesday and Friday, Selinsgrove on Saturday and Hagerstown on Sunday. No one else won more than once that weekend.

Friday's winners included Lynn Paxton, who put Ree Smith’s No. 1 in victory lane at Dorsey, Maryland, for his 12th win of the season. Jack Denniston won for the eighth time that season, parking the $ in victory lane at Winchester, Virginia. Harry Everly won at Bedford in the No. 25 for the first time that season. The URC sprints were also at Bedford and Lou Johnson won the race with the Scats Anfusco car.

Saturday found Red Fouts scoring his lone Lincoln win in his own No. 22JR, while Mitch Smith got his 17th win of the season with a Port Royal victory in the Flock Brothers Flying Tiger No. 2. Muss Weyandt got his sixth win of the season with a Everett score in the No. 5.

Susquehanna was rained out on Sunday.

Reach Bryan Householder at


1. 27 Greg Hodnett  1576 15
2. 48 Danny Dietrich 1081 5
3. 1 Lucas Wolfe  811 3
4. 19M Brent Marks  705 2
5. 21 Brian Montieth 668 3
6. 69k Lance Dewease 619 9
7. 87 Alan Krimes  600 1
8. 07 Doug Esh  548 2
9. 51s Stevie Smith  469 1
10. 51 Freddie Rahmer 458 2
11. 25 Aaron Ott  430 1
12. 94 Ryan Smith  413
13. 3z Brock Zearfoss 355 1
14. 11c Cory Haas  334
15 52 Austin Hogue  292 1
16. 17B Steve Buckwalter 266 2
17. 12 Blane Heimbach 230 1
18. M1 Mark Smith  212
19. 20 Ryan Taylor  208
20. 15 Adam Wilt  204
21. 16 Gerard McIntyre Jr 201
22. 55k Robbie Kendall 201
23. 55 Mike Wagner  189
24. 8 Billy Dietrich  179 1
25. 59 Jim Siegel  174


1. 41 Jeff Halligan  374 1
2. 66 Doug Hammaker 372 3
3. 16 Matt Campbell 280 1
4. 27s Adrian Shaffer 267 2
5. 119 Chandler Leiby 227
6. 45 Jeff Rohrabaugh 224 2
7. 77 David Holbrook 198 1
8. 35 Tyler Esh  157
9. 1J Kevin Nouse  156 1
10. 30 Seth Kearchner 150


1. Doug Hammaker
2. Kevin Nouse
3. Adrain Shaffer
4. David Holbrook
5. Tyler Esh