'The sky is the maximum': York-area students place in national rocket competition

HOUSEHOLDER: Port Royal's Dream Race looms Saturday

  • The Living Legends Dream Race is set for Saturday at Port Royal Speedway.
  • The winner of Saturday's feature will earn $10,000.
  • Randy Wolfe and John and Pee Wee Zemaitis will be honored Saturday.

The Living Legends Dream Race at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday evening highlights this weekend’s racing action.

Saturday’s main event offers the sprint car winner $10,000. Each of the two qualifying races offers $2,000 to win.

This year’s Living Legends honorees are retired sprint car driver Randy Wolfe and car owners John and Pee Wee Zemaitis.

Wolfe raced sprint cars for many years in the area, scoring more than 60 feature wins and a Port Royal championship.

Following his own driving career, Wolfe then worked hard to set up his son Lucas on the way to a stellar sprint car driving career. When Lucas landed the ride with John and Pee Wee Zemaitis and their Zemco team, Wolfe took his mechanical talents on the road for some time with World of Outlaws racer Joey Saldana.

John and Pee Wee Zemaitis own the famed Zemco No. 1 and have for many years, with a whole host of top area drivers.

Other weekend racing: Port Royal's Dream Race isn't the only racing action this weekend.

Friday’s racing at Williams Grove Speedway will include the sprint cars and the Nouse Signs and Graphics Summer Series for the 358 sprints, while Trailway Speedway hosts the 358 sprints, 600cc micro sprints, street stocks and limited stocks on Friday. The wingless super sportsman cars race at Path Valley Friday.

Lincoln Speedway gives the sprint cars Saturday evening off so they can compete at Port Royal. The 358 sprints will headline at Lincoln, along with the legends, mini stocks and classic cars.

The super sportsmen, limited late models and street stocks compete at Susquehanna Speedway on Saturday, while Selinsgrove Speedway hosts the 360 sprints, late models, pro stocks and roadrunners on EMMR night.

Hagerstown Speedway’s late models will go “topless” Saturday for $2,500 to win. The late model sportsmen also go topless, with the pure stocks, hobby stocks, e-mods and All American Outlaws also on the program.

The short track modified series events that were rained out last Sunday at Susquehanna have been rescheduled for this coming Sunday. On that card will be the return of the modifieds to Susquehanna, along with the sportsman modifieds.

DIRT TRACK RACING: Owings does it again at Trailway


YCRC picnic: The York County Racing Club will play host to its annual picnic this Sunday at the club hall in Zons View.

The YCRC provides hot dogs, beef barbecue and roasted corn, while each family is asked to bring a covered dish.  The meal starts at noon.

Another Rahmer wins at Grove:  When Freddie Rahmer won at Williams Grove Friday he added his name to a list his father Fred Rahmer sits atop.

Fred Rahmer has won 90 sprint car features at Williams Grove, plus one in the 358 sprints there. Now young Freddie joins the list.

While the elder Rahmer sits atop the list, it’s suddenly not a real comfortable position. Since Lance Dewease joined the Donnie Kreitz Jr. team he’s been winning a lot of races at the Grove. Dewease has won four times at the Grove this year in limited appearances. Those four wins have moved Dewease to 85 career wins at the Grove, so he is quickly closing in on Rahmer’s win total.

50 years ago:  Mitch Smith had the hot shoe on this weekend 50 years ago in 1966.

Smith drove the Flock Brothers Flying Tiger No. 2 to three wins over the weekend. He won Friday at Williams Grove, Saturday at Port Royal and Sunday at Hagerstown to bring his season win total up to 16.

The only other multiple winner of the weekend was Jack Denniston. Williams Grove elected to race on both Wednesday and Friday during the month of August, and Denniston put the $ into victory lane at the Grove’s Wednesday show, and then won again at Winchester, Virginia, on Friday. Those two wins pushed Denniston to eight wins on the season.

The other Friday winner that weekend was York’s Bobby Myers, who put the Gurtizen No. 51 into victory lane at Dorsey, Maryland. The Dorsey win was Myers’ third of the season, and I believe would be the final win of his career.

On the Saturday slate, Ray Tilley scored his 27th win of the season at Selinsgrove. Tilley was driving Bud Grimm’s potent No. 88 Ford.

Another Ford won at Lincoln that Saturday, when Lynn Paxton put the Ree Smith No. 1 into victory lane for the 11th time that season. While on the subject, my sincere sympathies go out to the whole Smith family on Ree’s death last week. Ree’s sons Duaine and Mark have both been winners on the local circuit. Mark is currently one of the area’s top 360 sprint racers, and still does well in his infrequent 410 races.

Milt Miller won Saturday’s feature at South Penn in Everett, with the No. 5x. Miller’s win was his second of the season.

In Sunday action at Susquehanna, “Big Johnny” Crawford put the Kuhn Brothers No. 8 into victory lane for the second time that season.

Bryan Householder writes about dirt track racing for The York Dispatch. He can be reached at sports@yorkdispatch.com.


1. 27 Greg Hodnett  1533 15
2. 48 Danny Dietrich 1035 5
3. 1 Lucas Wolfe  741 2
4. 19M Brent Marks  705 2
5. 21 Brian Montieth 633 3
6. 87 Alan Krimes  570 1
7. 69K Lance Dewease 569 8
8. 07 Doug Esh  523 2
9. 51 Freddie Rahmer 458 2
10. 51s Stevie Smith  434 1
11. 25 Aaron Ott  414 1
12. 94 Ryan Smith  399
13. 3z Brock Zearfoss 355 1
14. 11c Cory Haas  314
15 52 Austin Hogue  292 1
16. 17B Steve Buckwalter 256 2
17. 12 Blane Heimbach 220 1
18. M1 Mark Smith  212
19. 15 Adam Wilt  204
20. 16 Gerard McIntyre Jr 201
20. 55k Robbie Kendall 201
22. 20  Ryan Taylor  190
23. 55 Mike Wagner  189
24. 8 Billy Dietrich  179 1
25. 59 Jim Siegel  174


1. 41 Jeff Halligan  349 1
2. 66 Doug Hammaker 342 3
3. 27s Adrain Shaffer 267 2
4. 16 Matt Campbell 266 1
5. 45 Jeff Rohrbaugh 224 2
6. 119 Chandler Leiby 202
7. 77 David Holbrook 158 1
8. 66a Cody Fletcher  147
9. 35 Tyler Esh  143
10. 30 Seth kearchner 132


1. Doug Hammaker
2. Adrian Shaffer
3. Kevin Nouse
4. David Holbrook
5. Jordan Givler