Lincoln Speedway off to fast start

  • Britan Montieth and Greg Hodnett have won the two Lincoln races this season.
  • There were 26 sprint cars in the pits for Sunday's race.
  • Lincoln is scheduled to race again this Saturday, with a Sunday rain date.

For the second week in a row, Lincoln Speedway waited an extra day and then got its show in the record books on Sunday.

Spring Grove's Greg Hodnett continued his dominance this year by winning the Harry Fletcher Tribute Race at Path Valley Speedway on Sunday night.

This time around, there were 26 sprint cars in the pits, and a nice crowd in the grandstands. It was not nearly as large a crowd as on opening day, but still a good turnout.

Among the crowd was the driver who won Lincoln’s first-ever March 6 race back in 1977. That was the always popular Van May, who is still a regular at the local speedways long after retiring as a driver. It’s hard to believe that May’s opening-day win came 39 years ago.

This week things went smoother on the track, with just one delay during qualifying and two caution flags during the feature. The heat-race delay was the most serious of the day, when Brad Franks parked his car between the guard rail and the catch fence about halfway between the fourth turn and the flag stand. Word is that Franks’ racer “popped” a wheelie exiting the fourth turn and vaulted over the guard rail, before being stopped by the catch fence. Franks was not injured, but it took some time to remove the car from that position.

For the second week in a row, Ohio invader Cole Duncan brought out the final caution flag of the event, this time when his car lost power on the 22nd lap.

Brian Montieth’s win was his 51st career win at Lincoln and leaves him just five wins shy of legendary Bobby Abel for fifth spot on Lincoln’s career win list.

Lincoln has yet to have a repeat winner in any event. Freddie Rahmer, Billy Dietrich, Glenndon Forsythe, Scott Fisher, Brian Montieth and Gerard McIntyre Jr. have won heats, Mark Smith has a consolation win, and of course Montieth and Greg Hodnett have feature wins.

Montieth races to Lincoln triumph

There are a number of drivers who still have all top-10 finishes this season. They are: Hodnett with a first and a second; Montieth with a first and a third; Adam Wilt with a second and a fifth; Alan Krimes with a third and a sixth; Freddie Rahmer with a fourth and an eighth; Jim Siegel with a fifth and a seventh; and Danny Dietrich with a pair of ninths.

It’s a good thing Lincoln has electronic scoring. Two feature positions were determined by the blink of an eye. Robbie Kendall edged Danny Dietrich by just .002 for eighth and Cory Haas was just .035 ahead of Brent Marks for 10th.


This week: Lincoln will try again this week with another scheduled Saturday afternoon program of sprint car racing.

This time, however, following the races, there will be a practice session for cars from any other division that will be racing at Lincoln this season. Again, Lincoln has a Sunday rain date. Lincoln will move to evening racing the following Saturday.

Port Royal is scheduled to kick off its season on Saturday evening with the sprint cars and late models on the racing slate. I spoke with promoter Steve O’Neill on Sunday at Lincoln, and he feels that the Port should be ready for the Saturday opener. He did say, however, that Thursday evening’s practice session is in doubt.

Fish fry: The annual Gary Wolford Fish Fry is set for May 1 at the Latimore Valley Fairgrounds.

Sunday at Lincoln, the list of drivers for the annual “Blindfold Race” were announced. The team of modified drivers will include veteran Meme DeSantis, who also spent several years in sprint cars, and Ryan Watt.

From the super sportsman ranks come Steve Wilbur and Carmen Perigo Jr., while new Susquehanna owner Scott Gobrecht will join his general manager, Kolton Gouse, in another racer.  The final team will include Dana Montieth, wife of Brian Montieth; Gloria Wilbur, wife of Steve Wilbur; and Tena Shaffer, who is the chief scorer at Williams Grove and Lincoln.

First race: My friend, and fellow racing historian Steve Bubb, had an interesting column in the most recent edition of Area Auto Racing News.

Bubb has been trying to find the first auto race ever held in the state of Pennsylvania.

While he can’t be certain it’s the very first, Bubb has found a race at the Belmont Driving Park near Philadelphia that was held on July 28, 1899. Three cars competed. Jules Junker driving a Winton, was the race winner by 10 feet over D.L. Ward in a General Electric Car. It took 7 minutes, 38.25 second to complete the two-mile race.

Bryan Householder writes about dirt track racing for The York Dispatch. He can be reached


Each member is listed; by position, car number, driver's name, point total and series wins.

1. 27 Greg Hodnett  85 1
2. 21 Brian Montieth 80 1
3. 15 Adam Wilt  55
4. 87 Alan Krimes  46
5. 51 Freddie Rahmer 39
6. 59 Jim Siegel  36
7. 16 Gerard McIntyre Jr 25
8. 48 Danny Dietrich 24
9. 52 Austin Hogue  18
10. 44 Chase Dietz  16
11. 55K Robbie Kendall 14
12. 99M Kyle Moody  10
12. 11c Cory Haas  10