HOUSEHOLDER: Danny Dietrich continues his championship reign on local 410 sprint circuit

Danny Dietrich
  • Danny Dietrich is Champion Racing Oil Central Pennsylvania Sprint Car Point Series champion.
  • Dietrich successfully defended his title. He's won the crown three times in the last four years.
  • Dillsburg's Anthony Macri finished in second place, followed by Freddie Rahmer.

Danny Dietrich's championship reign will continue.

Dietrich has retained his spot at the top of the Champion Racing Oil Central Pennsylvania Sprint Car Point Series presented by For Dietrich, the overall season-long title is his third in the last four years.

This time around, Dietrich had to sweat it out in the pit area as the final 410 race of the local outdoor dirt-track season wound down on Saturday at BAPS Motor Speedway in northern York County. Dietrich had advanced to a spot that would have assured him of the title and was trying for more when he tangled with Lucas Wolfe on a restart near the midpoint of the race.  Dietrich was done for the day.

Dietrich’s closest challenger for the season-long crown, Anthony Macri of Dillsburg, had to finish second to knock Dietrich from the series point lead after Dietrich exited the race. That is exactly where Macri ran for much of the race after losing the lead to Freddie Rahmer. Then, in the closing laps of the race, Macri slipped to fourth while fighting with lapped traffic.

Freddie Rahmer closes out 2020 area dirt-track season with breakthrough sprint win at BAPS

The final margin of victory for Dietrich over Macri was seven points — 1,256-1,249.

In a season of COVID-19 pandemic restrictions, the series was able to complete 78 races. It was possible for a driver to race 67 times. With points awarded to the top-10 finishers in each race, a record 101 drivers scored points this season.

Anthony Macri

A total of 28 different drivers scored wins in series competition this year. While the vast majority of those drivers hailed from Pennsylvania, there were natives of nine different states in victory lane locally in the series this year. Only two of the drivers, Jeff Halligan and Jason Shultz, scored their first career 410 sprints wins, while two others, Sheldon Haudenschild and Spencer Bayston, scored their first 410 sprint wins on local ovals. 

Eighteen of the winning drivers were local regulars this year, while four were World of Outlaws regulars, two were All Star regulars and four ran true Outlaws schedules that found them racing wherever and whenever they wanted.

Like what you're reading?:Not a subscriber? Click here for full access to The York Dispatch.

The leaders: In the end, it was Dietrich’s 12 wins that propelled him to the title. Dietrich, with his Gary Kauffman-owned Sandoe’s Fruit Markets No. 48, scored 40 finishes in the top 10. In addition to the 12 wins, there were seven seconds, three thirds, three fourths, two fifths and 13 other top-10 runs.

Macri, in the family’s Macri Concrete No. 39M, raced to nine wins this season, with six seconds, five thirds, three fourths, six fifths and 16 other top-10 runs. His 45 top-10 finishes were the most in the series.

Freddie Rahmer

Third-place Freddie Rahmer (1,157 points) was second in the the top-10 category with 44 top-10 runs. His win at BAPS on Saturday in the Sprint Showdown in the family-owned Leffler Energy No. 51 was his eighth of the season. Rahmer had five seconds, six thirds, four fourths, two fifths and 19 other finishes in the top 10. He also won the season titles at Williams Grove and Lincoln speedways.

Brent Marks ended the season fourth in points at 1,011. Marks drove the CJB No. 5 to three wins. He recorded eight seconds, five thirds, five fourths, three fifths and 17 other top-10 finishes.

Danny Dietrich drove the Gary Kauffman-owned Sandoe’s Fruit Markets No. 48 to a dozen local 410 sprint victories this season.

Kyle Larson, who heads back to the NASCAR Cup Series full time next year, ended the sprint season fifth in the series standings at 935. Larson competed locally 24 times this year, with a worst finish of sixth. He drove the Paul Silva No. 57 to 12 local wins, tying Dietrich in that category. He also had five seconds, three thirds, two fourths and the one sixth. He did not finish one local race after a crash at Port Royal Speedway.

Looking to the rest of the top 10, Lance Dewease was sixth (878) in the Donnie Kreitz No. 69k, with six wins and 29 top-10 finishes. Brock Zearfoss, whose only win this season came outside the area while local racing was shut down for the pandemic, was seventh (542) with 28 top-10 finishes in the family-owned Moose’s LZ No. 3z.

Dylan Cisney (519) placed eighth with two wins and 22 top-10 finishes in his family-owned No. 5. Port Royal champion Logan Wagner was ninth (454) with one win and 19 top-10 finishes in the Zemco No. 1. Brian Montieth (439) rounded out the top 10 with Jerry Parrish’s No. 21 with one win and 18 top-10 finishes.

York’s Chase Dietz and 2018 champion Lucas Wolfe ended the season tied for 11th at 400 points, just 39 points out of the top 10. All Star champion Arron Reutzel raced locally enough times to secure 14th place, while Outlaw regulars David Gravel and Logan Schuchart both cracked the top 20 as well.

Silly season: Some ride changes popped up last week, with drivers setting their plans for next season.

York’s Cory Haas will return to the driver’s seat next year in the Buzz Wilson-owned No. 38. Rumored plans call for Haas to race regularly at Lincoln, with visits to BAPS and Selinsgrove as well. Wilson followed his father to the driver’s seat and then his son, Scott, drove for several season. In recent years, both Steve Buckwalter and Mark Smith have piloted the No. 38 on a limited basis.

Brandon Rahmer has secured a seat in the John Westbrook No. 1w for Friday nights at Williams Grove in 2021. Rahmer will continue to race the family-owned No. 88 at Lincoln on Saturdays. Westbrook was seriously injured in a Williams Grove crash and has since fielded cars for others. Two years ago, Kyle Reinhardt won the Selinsgrove 360 point title in the Westbrook car, while this season, Matt Campbell drove the car at Williams Grove. When Campbell moved to the Jerry Parrish ride, it left the Westbrook seat open.

Multi-time 358 sprint champion Kevin Nouse has announced his retirement as a driver.  Nouse, who also won in 410 sprints, super sportsmen and micro sprints, has well over 100 career wins. He will focus on his rapidly growing racing-related business.

— Bryan Householder writes about dirt-track racing for The York Dispatch. He can be reached at


Presented by

(Wins in parenthesis)

1. Danny Dietrich (12)             1,256

2. Anthony Macri (9)                1,249

3. Freddie Rahmer (8)             1,157

4. Brent Marks (3)                    1,011

5. Kyle Larson (12)                     935 

6. Lance Dewease (6)                878

7. Brock Zearfoss                       542

8. Dylan Cisney (2)                    519

9. Logan Wagner (1)                  454

10. Brian Montieth (1)                 439 

11. Chase Dietz                          400

11. Lucas Wolfe                          400

13. Ryan Smith                           390

14. Aaron Reutzel (2)                 340

15. Kyle Reinhardt (1)                 321

16. David Gravel (3)                    291 

17. T.J. Stutts                              287

18. Rico Abreu (1)                       285 

19.  Jeff Halligan (1)                    259 

19.  Logan Schuchart                  259

21. Mike Wagner (1)                    255

22. Brandon Rahmer (1)              254 

23. Billy Dietrich                           251

24. Cory Eliason (2)                     228 

25. Alan Krimes (1)                      227