Chinese balloon now over central US amid spying accusations: Video

HOUSEHOLDER: Erick Rudolph wins indoor race in Trenton

  • Erick Rudolph won the 40-lap Battle of Trenton over the weekend.
  • The second-generation New York driver earned $2,000 for the triumph.
  • The indoor racing season moves to Allentown’s PPL Center on New Year’s weekend.

Erick Rudolph continued his mastery of the Indoor Racing Series with a win in Saturday’s 40-lap Battle of Trenton contest for the three-quarter midgets.

The second-generation driver from New York collected $2,000 for his victory in the event, which was presented by Len Sammons Promotions.

Erick Rudolph

Rudolph, who races dirt modifieds during the outdoor season, started third and took the lead from asphalt modified driver Jimmy Blewett on the sixth lap. He went on to score the win over Ryan Flores, who spends his outdoor racing season working on Ryan Blaney’s NASCAR Cup series racer.  Blewett finished third, with asphalt modified driver Zane Zeiner and New York state 360 sprint car racer Scott Kreutter in the top five.

On Friday, the three-quarter midgets raced in a series of three 20-lap feature events. The field of nearly 60 cars was split into three groups for the races. Rudolph won the first race over Zeiner, with Matt Janisch, Tommy Catalono and Earl Paulus in the top five.

In the second race, asphalt modified legend Ted Christopher was the winner. Christopher had a strong run going on Saturday when his engine expired in a ball of flames. Blewett trailed Christopher Friday, followed by Kyle Lick, Mike Iles and Steve Kemery.

The third race fell to Flores, with Andy Jankowiak, Tim Buckwalter, Anthony Sesely and Kreutter in the top five.

Cale Ross won Friday’s champ kart feature and Anthony Raisner was the slingshot winner on Saturday.

The indoor season moves to Allentown’s PPL Center on New Year’s weekend. Last year, the Allentown event was a one-day show and sold out the arena. This year the show has been expanded to two days.

There will be complete programs for the TQs on both Friday, Dec. 30, and Saturday, Dec. 31. The Dec. 31 show will be part of the Allentown New Year’s celebration. As such, it will start at 4 p.m., instead of 7 p.m.

The indoor series wraps up the last weekend in January with the Gambler’s Classic in Atlantic City’s Boardwalk Hall.

Big winners: This week, I’ll continue with a recap of the just-completed racing season, with a look at the area’s biggest winners in each class of racing.

It’s been pretty well documented that Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett was the big winner in 410 sprint car competition around here.

Hodnett won 19 features in the 410 sprints, and added another four wins in the 360 sprint cars. He was the overall central Pennsylvania champion and also the Williams Grove Speedway champion.

Second on the 410 win list this season was Lance Dewease, who won 10 times in just 26 starts while driving for Donnie Kreitz Jr.

In the 360 sprint ranks, it was Mark Smith who scored the most wins for area drivers. Smith won the Selinsgrove Speedway point title again this season with four wins there.  Overall he won 10 times this season, including three wins in New York and single wins at three other Pennsylvania tracks.

URC champion Davie Franek was second on the list with nine wins.

In the 358 sprints, Doug Hammaker was the area’s biggest winner. Hammaker was forced to sit out several weeks late in the season with a concussion, but still tallied six wins this year. Kevin Nouse and Steve Owings each won four times in 358 sprint competition.

On the super sportsman circuit, Susquehanna Speedway champion Russ Mitten was the big winner with five wins this season. Frankie Herr was second in wins despite a very limited schedule. Herr won four times.

On the super late model circuit, Maryland racer Dale Hollidge was the big winner with 11 wins. Dylan Yoder, Greg Satterlee and Matt Cosner each had eight wins.

In the limited late model ranks, Randy Stoudt, and Kyle Lee each won six times to lead the way.

Hagerstown Speedway regular Chris Ebersole led the way in street stock type competition, with six wins. Susquehanna champ Mike Potts, of Manchester, was second with five.

Banquets: The York County Racing Club’s Hall of Fame Banquet is fast approaching. The YCRC banquet will be held at the Wyndham Garden in West Manchester Township on Saturday, Jan. 7.

Tommy Sanders will be the guest speaker. Sanders is a Hanover native who worked with several local sprint cars before taking his show on the road with several noted national teams. Later he operated the well-known Gambler Chassis company.

The Auto Racing Club of Hagerstown has its annual winter banquet set for Saturday, Jan. 21. The ARCH group honors sportsmanship drivers from around the area, and also inducts two new Hall of Fame members.

Shows: Racing shows for the area include the annual Motorsports Show in Oaks on Jan. 20, 21 and 22. NASCAR “King” Richard Petty will be the special guest on Saturday. Petty will celebrate his 80th birthday this year. His actual birthday is in early July.

The Racing Xtravaganza at the York Expo Center is set for Feb. 4 and 5. New promoter Scott Gobrecht really turned this show around last year and we should look for even more in 2017.

Bryan Householder writes about dirt-track racing for The York Dispatch. He can be reached at