HOUSEHOLDER: Outlaw drivers rule at Port Royal, with help from area mechanics


Brad Sweet's victory in Saturday's World of Outlaws sprint car feature at Port Royal brings the score at the Port to: Outlaws 5, Posse 4.

The California driver worked hard to beat his teammate, Daryn Pittman, in a one-two finish for the Kasey Kahne Racing team. Donny Schatz finished third in Tony Stewart's car.

While the top three finishers were all solidly in the Outlaw camp, there's still some murkiness in the whole Outlaw/Posse separation. While Sweet is from California, and his car owner, Kahne, is originally from Washington state, the team's chief mechanic is from right here in York.

Second-generation mechanic Lee Stauffer took over the wrenches for Sweet's team late in the summer, and has helped the team to two wins already.

Pittman, of course, spent four years on the local circuit between Outlaw rides.

As for Schatz, one of the things local fans continue to forget, is that his chief mechanic, Ricky Warner, is also a product of the local circuit. Warner, who has guided the team to many wins and championships over the years, got his start near his Carlisle hometown with drivers such as Randy Wolfe.


This weekend: Susquehanna Speedway Park is the only game in town this weekend.

In his next-to-last run as promoter of the speedway, Todd Fisher has combined the Candy Bowl and the Miller's Racing Parts Fall Classic into a big day of racing.

On the racing slate are Legends, sportsman modifieds, street stocks, Xtreme stock cars, minivans, stock 600cc micro sprints and 1,000cc sidewinder micro sprints. There is also "on-track" trick or treating for the kids before the features.

The Candy Bowl/Fall Classic starts at 2 Saturday afternoon.

Of course, new speedway owner Scott Gobrecht has been on hand for the last few shows at Susky and has also gotten a head start on work at the speedway. Gobrecht has purchased seating from both Daytona and Charlotte, and some of it has already arrived on the speedway grounds.

Don't expect the new seating to be installed for this year's remaining races, but fans will get a chance to look at next year's seats.

Gobrecht will install Kolton Gouse as the track's general manager as soon as Gouse's season ends with Kasey Kahne's sprint car team. Since the Outlaws have this weekend off, expect Gouse to be around on Saturday as well.

World Finals: The area will be dark on the first weekend in November before Susky returns with the Final Showdown on Nov. 14.

Next weekend is the World Finals at Charlotte's dirt track. The World of Outlaws sprints, World of Outlaws Late Models and DIRT Modifieds compete in that event.

This weekend in history: All year I've taken a look at the 1970 racing season, since those dates matched this year's dates. Last week I mentioned that the 1970 season closed that week with the Williams Grove National Open.

So this week I searched the record books for any races that happened on the dates of Oct. 30-31 and Nov. 1. As you might expect, the more southern tracks on the circuit have hosted most of those races. Hagerstown has three races and one "snow out." Lincoln has two races and one rain out. Susquehanna tried once and got rained out. And, two long-gone tracks, Reading and Bowling Green, each got one race in on this weekend.

Hagerstown first raced on Oct. 30 in 1988 with twin 25s for the sprint cars. Donnie Kreitz Jr. and Steve Smith were the winners. They also tried to race on Oct. 30 in 2011, but that's when it snowed.

Hagerstown raced on Oct. 31 in 1999 and 2004. Billy Pauch won the sprint car race in 1999 and Greg Hodnett was the sprint winner in 2004.

Lincoln raced on Oct. 31 in 1965 and got rained out on that date in 1992. In 1965, Hal Browning won the feature. A year later, Lincoln raced on Oct. 30, with Johnny Crawford scoring the win.

Susky's rain out came on Oct. 30, 1955.

Bowling Green raced on Oct. 31, 1954, with Bob Wolfe picking up the win.

Reading's sprint car race was on Oct. 31, 1976, and the winner was Rob Cappetta.

— Bryan Householder writes about dirt track racing for The York Dispatch. He can be reached at

Sprint car standings

Speedway Motors/Champion Racing Oil Central Pennsylvania Sprint Cars

Presented by

Driver (Wins).....................................Pts.

1. Greg Hodnett (16) 1,901

2. Danny Dietrich (15) 1,722

3. Brian Montieth (9) 1,264

4. Lucas Wolfe (4) 1,164

5. Brent Marks (3) 1,090

6. Lance Dewease (1) 921

7. Aaron Ott (2) 785

8. Stevie Smith (10) 770

9. Alan Krimes (2) 694

10. Cory Haas (1) 570

11. Steve Buckwalter (3) 550

12. Austin Hogue (1) 490

13. Doug Esh (2) 303

14. Freddie Rahmer (1) 280

15. Jim Siegel (1) 274

16. Brock Zearfoss 273

17. Ryan Taylor 254

18. Mike Wagner 251

19. Tim Glatfelter 242

20. Dylan Cisney 234

21. Donny Schatz (1) 220

22. Kyle Moody 217

23. Robbie Kendall 214

24. Adam Wilt 202

25. Ryan Smith 198