HOUSEHOLDER: Selinsgrove, Lincoln to hold big money races this weekend


The local racing circuit is well into a month of big purses, and this weekend is no different.

The Jimmy Nace Memorial for the sprint cars at Selinsgrove and the Sportsman 100 at Lincoln top the weekend's events.

At Selinsgrove, the sprint cars will compete in the event that was once known as the Selinsgrove National Open, with $12,000 awaiting the winner of the classic event. Last year, Spring Grove's Greg Hodnett won the race, which dates back to 1983. It became the Nace Memorial in 2010.

Hodnett's win was his fourth in the race. Fred Rahmer leads all drivers with five wins in the classic competition. The late models are also on the slate at Selinsgrove on Saturday.

Lincoln has been hosting the Lawrence Chevrolet Sportsman 100 for the super sportsman racers since Silver Spring closed its gates about a decade ago. The event dates back to 1975, and last year's winner, Frankie Herr,. is the all-time win leader with seven in the century grind.

The 305 sprints will also be on the racing calendar at Lincoln.

Hagerstown also has a big event this weekend, with the Small Car Nationals. The event is a two-day show with qualifying on Friday and race events on Saturday. Added purses for the late model sportsmen, pure stocks, hobby stocks and mini stocks highlight the event.

Trailway also has a two-race weekend. Friday, the limited late models, limited stocks, street stocks and classic cars race. On Saturday, the 600cc and 270cc micro sprints compete in the Kevin Gobrecht Memorial Race.

Other action this weekend includes Friday's show at Williams Grove, with the sprint cars and ARDC midgets on the slate, and Sunday's show at Susquehanna Speedway Park, where the sprint cars and 305 sprints will be in action.


On the Mark(s): Brent Marks had a great season going all year long. Before Labor Day, he had finished in the top 10 39 times on the local circuit He also qualified for the A-Main at the Knoxville Nationals. The only thing he hadn't done was win a race.

That all changed on Labor Day when he won the afternoon race at Port Royal. Since then, he's been undefeated. Marks won the "Night Before the Tuscarora 50" last Friday, and then came back on Sunday to win the rescheduled Tuscarora 50 as well. He has now won the last three sprint car races in the area. By the way, those three wins netted the Marks family team more than $21,000 in earnings.

Wolfe takes title: While Lucas Wolfe didn't have the kind of Tuscarora 50 weekend he had hoped, there was one bright spot.

Wolfe secured his first-ever Port Royal sprint car title. In fact, the championship is Wolfe's first anywhere in sprint car competition. Ironically, his father, Randy Wolfe, earned his only sprint car point title at Port Royal as well. That one came in 1982.

YCRC meeting: The York County Racing Club will host a general membership meeting on Wednesday evening at the club hall in Zions View.

The meeting starts at 7:30 p.m. and limited late model driver Jake Jones will be the guest speaker. Jones, who also owns Miller's Racing Products, has wins this season at Lincoln and Hagerstown.

1970: The season was winding down by this time in 1970. Lincoln raced on Saturday, while Williams Grove raced Sunday afternoon and Hagerstown raced on Sunday evening.

At Lincoln on Saturday, Gus Linder drove the Mickey Banas No. 69 to his third win of the season. At the Grove on Sunday afternoon, Lynn Paxton scored the win in "Shorty" Emrich's No. 1. It was Paxton's 10th victory of the season. Linder finished second. On down the road at Hagerstown that evening, Smokey Snellbaker scored his first win for car owner Roy Morall in the famed No. 880. The win was Snellbaker's fourth overall that season. Snellbaker had finished third at the Grove that afternoon.

Several drivers scored top-five finishes in two of the three races that weekend, but only one, Bobby Allen notched top fives in all three races. Allen was third at Lincoln and fourth at both the Grove and Hagerstown in "Shorty" Emrich's No. 3. Kenny Weld put Bud Grimm's No. 88 in the top five twice with a second at Lincoln, and a third at Hagerstown. Irvin King was the other driver to gain two top fives with a fourth at Lincoln and a second at Hagerstown in his own No. 86.

— Reach Bryan Householder at

Speedway Motors/Champion Racing Oil Central Pennsylvania Sprint Cars

Presented by

Name (Wins)......................................Pts.

1. Greg Hodnett (15) 1,708

2. Danny Dietrich (14) 1,544

3. Brian Montieth (8) 1,174

4. Lucas Wolfe (3) 1,058

5. Brent Marks (3) 985

6. Lance Dewease (1) 828

7. Aaron Ott (2) 753

8. Alan Krimes (2) 648

9. Stevie Smith (8) 635

10. Cory Haas (1) 544

11. Steve Buckwalter (3) 550

12. Austin Hogue (1) 436

13. Doug Esh (2) 303

14. Jim Siegel (1) 264

15. Freddie Rahmer (1) 262

16. Brock Zearfoss 255

17. Ryan Taylor 254

18. Mike Wagner 251

19. Tim Glatfelter 242

20. Dylan Cisney 234

21. Kyle Moody 217

22. Robbie Kendall 214

23. Ryan Smith 198

24. Logan Wagner (1) 197

25. Davey Sammons 180


Name (Wins)......................................Pts.

1. Doug Hammaker (5) 1,096

2. Brad McClelland (8) 977

3. Matt Campbell (3) 841

4. Issac Sneeringer (5) 729

5. Cody Fletcher (2) 718

6. Adrian Shaffer (3) 591

7. Kevin Nouse 515

8. Jeff Halligan (3) 508

9. Dwight Leppo (1) 500

10. Chase Dietz (3) 499