HOUSEHOLDER: Fisher struggles while attempting rare racing triple at Lincoln


Last Saturday at Lincoln Speedway, some drivers had the chance to double — or even triple — their fun.

That's because Lincoln added the make-up of the twice-rained-out 360 sprint car feature from the 2014 USAC show to Saturday's racing program that also included the 358 sprints and the 410 sprints.

A number of 358 sprint drivers had been in the field for the 2014 360 sprint race. Since several drivers couldn't make it back for the 360 race, the top 10 in the 358 overall sprint point standings were invited to join the back of the starting field for the 360 race.

One driver had qualified for the 360 sprint race and also races the 410 sprint cars weekly at Lincoln. Scott Fisher also races a 358 sprint at Williams Grove on Friday nights. So Fisher attempted to race with all three divisions on Saturday at Lincoln. While he won a heat race with the 358 sprints, his night went downhill from there. Fisher dropped out of all three feature events and garnered three finishes in the 20s.

For 360 sprint racer Davie Franek, the night offered a unique opportunity. Franek was offered a ride in the potent Roger McKeon No. 4R 358 sprint for the evening. While Franek had never won at Lincoln, that would change. He took the McKeon car to victory lane in the 358 sprint event. He would finish fifth in the 360 sprint feature.

Aaron Ott, Spring Grove's Greg Hodnett and York's Glenndon Forsythe each competed in both the regular 410 sprint feature and the 360 event. Ott won the 360 feature after a 13th-place finish in the 410 sprint event. Hodnett finished fifth in the 410 sprint feature and fourth in the 360 event. Forsythe was seventh in the 410 sprint event and ninth in the 360 event. Mark Smith attempted to compete in both events, but didn't qualify for the 410 sprint race and dropped out of the 360 event.

In addition to Franek, Fawn Grove's Matt Campbell had top-10 finishes in both the 358 and 360 sprint features. Campbell was eighth with the 358s and 10th with the 360s.

Jim Siegel, the 410 sprint winner, just completed building a new racer after his former car crashed during Speedweek. Siegel's win in the Brandon Little Memorial event was bittersweet for the Little family. Siegel was Brandon Little's favorite driver. Little was fatally injured while responding to a fire call several years ago.


Weekend events: Williams Grove will have a two-race weekend again this week. Friday, the sprint cars tune up for the upcoming World of Outlaws visit. The 358 sprints are also on the program. The Saturday Night Series is in competition as well, with the super sportsmen, limited late models and street stocks on Kids' Night.

The 358 sprints return to Trailway on Friday and are joined by the limited late models, 600cc micro sprints and limited stocks.

The wingless super sportsmen compete at Path Valley on Friday.

At Lincoln on Saturday, the sprint cars compete in the annual Gohn Memorial Race. The event honors Glenn Gohn Sr. and Daryl Gohn. Glenn Sr. was a longtime car owner and sponsor who died just weeks before his son Daryl was fatally injured in a sprint car crash at Williams Grove. The 358 sprints compete in the second leg of the four-race Nouse Signs and Graphics Summer Series, and the Legends are on the slate as well.

At Port Royal Saturday, the sprints, late models, econo late models and All American Outlaws compete.

Selinsgrove returns from its "summer vacation" Saturday with the 360 sprints, late models, pro stocks and roadrunners.

The race cars get the week off at Hagerstown for the Monster Truck Jam.

Susquehanna Speedway Park will return from its "summer vacation" with a Sunday program of sprints and a 358/360 sprint challenge race.

YCRC meeting: The York County Racing Club will host a general membership meeting this Wednesday evening at the club hall in Zions View. The meeting starts at 7:30 p.m. Sprint car driver Kyle Moody will be the guest speaker. Moody is fresh off a third-place finish at Lincoln Saturday.

Another Rahmer promotion: Fred Rahmer has added another event to his promotions this season. Rahmer is planning a late August midweek event at Lincoln. The race will feature several drivers from the past in 410 sprint cars. Not sure yet of all the entrants, but Doug Wolfgang, Steve Smith, Billy Pauch Sr. and Lynn Paxton are names mentioned already. More in the weeks to come.

1970: It was another busy weekend on the local circuit in 1970. Selinsgrove took the weekend off for its then-annual fair, so promoter Jack Gunn moved his Saturday show to his Friday track, Williams Grove.

On Friday at the Grove, Mitch Smith drove Gary Wasson's No. 5 to his ninth victory of the season. Then on Saturday at the Grove, it was Jan Opperman scoring the victory. Opp's win in the Harold Hank No. 4 was his sixth of the season.

Lincoln and Port Royal also raced on Saturday. At Lincoln, Kenny Weld parked Bud Grimm's No. 88 in victory lane for his 14th overall win of the season. At the Port, Johnny Grum drove Harry Fletcher's No. 66 to his 12th win of the season.

The weekend wrapped up Sunday at Hagerstown, where Mitch Smith book ended the weekend with his 10th victory of the year in Wasson's No. 5.

Bryan Householder writes about dirt track racing for The York Dispatch. He can be reached at

Speedway Motors/Champion Racing Oil Central Pennsylvania Sprint Car series

Presented by

Driver (Wins).....................................Pts.

1. Greg Hodnett (9) 1,115

2. Danny Dietrich (6) 922

3. Brian Montieth (8) 833

4. Lucas Wolfe (3) 783

5. Brent Marks 632

6. Stevie Smith (6) 503

7. Aaron Ott (1) 496

8. Alan Krimes (2) 484

9. Steve Buckwalter (3) 423

10. Lance Dewease (1) 380

11. Cory Haas 330

12. Austin Hogue 237

13. Jim Siegel (1) 180

13. Doug Esh (1) 180

15. Freddie Rahmer 174

16. Donnie Kreitz Jr. (1) 163

17. Kyle Moody 151

18. Mike Waganer 146

19. Ryan Smith 145

20. Tim Glatfelter 138

21. Brock Zearfoss 129

22. Adam Wilt 126

23. Robbie Kendall 124

23. Kevin Nouse 124

25. Dylan Cisney 120

Capital Renegade 358 Sprint Series

Driver (Wins).....................................Pts.

1. Doug Hammaker (3) 535

2. Brad McClelland (4) 517

3. Matt Campbell (2) 492

4. Issac Sneeringer (3) 407

5. Jeff Halligan (3) 354

6. Dwight Leppo (1) 332

7. Cody Fletcher (1) 320

8. David Holbrook (1) 301

9. Adrian Shaffer (2) 300

10. Kevin Nouse 280