HOUSEHOLDER: Kreitz, Ellis get Hall of Fame honors this weekend in Iowa


This will be a big weekend for two members of the local racing community.

It's the weekend when the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame and Museum in Knoxville, Iowa, holds its induction ceremonies.

Among this year's Hall of Fame inductees are local sprint car driver Donnie Kreitz Jr. and Williams Grove announcer Bruce Ellis.

Others to be inducted this year include Danny Smith, Mike Aurthur, Roger Beck, Gen Brown, Gil Sonner and Charlie Wiggins.

Kreitz and Ellis join a host of others from the area who have been inducted into the national Hall of Fame.

Old racers: Sunday at Selinsgrove's Ray Tilley Classic, Dover's Marlin Heller had the restored Bud Grimm No. 88 that Tilley drove in 1967 and 1968 on display.

Wrightville's Brett Adamson also had his restored Al Hamilton No. 77 that his father Bobbie Adamson drove in 1972 on display.

One interesting note about the Ray Tilley car Heller had on display is that it had a long and productive life. After two years of racing, Grim sold that car to Al Hamilton, and it was driven by several top racers, including Adamson. Then Leroy Felty bought it, and won the URC point title with the car. Later, Leroy's nephew, Elvin Felty, drove the car on the local circuit.

Heller noted that he would be changing cars in his trailer after the Selinsgrove show and heading out to Knoxville for the induction ceremonies. He will be returning two cars to museums out there and bringing back two of the cars the Eastern Museum of Motor Racing has on display in Knoxville.

Interesting how these old racers still get around.


This weekend: Both nights of racing at Williams Grove this weekend will be York County Racing Club Nights. Friday features a $5 discount for members. The Friday show at the Grove includes sprints and 358 sprints. Saturday, the super sportsmen, limited late models and street stocks compete.

Trailway hosts the 358 sprints, legends, limited stocks and street stocks on Friday.

Saturday at Lincoln, the sprints, 358 sprints and All American Outlaws compete, while at Selinsgrove it's the 360 sprints, late models pro stocks and roadrunners in action.

Port Royal is part of this year's Late Model Speedweek and the Charlie Grinestaff Memorial will highlight Saturday's show. The sprints and Xtreme stocks are also in action.

Susquehanna Speedway Park hosts limited late models, street stocks, Xtreme stocks, road warriors, minivans and the 305 sprints Saturday, while Hagerstown has the late model sportsmen, pure stocks, hobby stocks, classic cars and sidewinder micro sprints on its Saturday slate.

Both extremes: Saturday racing around the area is fun for all ages, and apparently that applies on the track as well as in the grandstands. Saturday's races produced one of the area's youngest winners and one of its oldest, a least for regular weekly competition.

At Williams Grove, popular veteran driver Rich Eichelberger, from Dillsburg, won the super sportsman feature. Eichelberger has been racing since 1970, and although I'm not positive about his age, it's more than a couple years past 60.

Eichelberger has won 86 times now in the super sportsman cars to go with a handful of wins in both the 358 sprints and the limited late models. Of course, he's also a big supporter of the Eastern Museum of Motor Racing, and his company, Lobar, built the museum.

On the other extreme, the 358 sprint car feature at Lincoln was won by Cole Young. Cole is the son of sprint car racer Niki Young, and is barely past his 15th birthday. Young started in micro sprints and is in his first year of 358 sprint racing. He finished fifth in Lincoln's previous 358 sprint show.

1970: It was a big weekend of racing on the local circuit 45 years ago in 1970.

On Friday at Williams Grove, things kicked off with a 35-lap championship race. Kenny Weld won that one in Bud Grimm's No. 88 for his sixth win of the season. Weld would come back to the Grove on Sunday to win a special afternoon show for his seventh win of the season. He didn't make the top five on Saturday at Lincoln, but did venture to Hagerstown Sunday evening after the Grove show. There he finished second to western Pennsylvania ace Buddy Cochran, who scored his first local win of the season in the red No. 27.

Saturday action on the local circuit saw Bobby Allen park "Shorty" Emrich's No. 3 in victory lane at Lincoln for his third win of the season. At Port Royal, Johnny Grum was the winner in Harry Fletcher's No. 66. It was Grum's sixth win of the season.

At Selinsgrove on Saturday, Billy Cassella drove Wilbur Hawthorne's No. 35 to his third season victory. That same night, URC invaded Bedford, with western Pennsylvania driver J.D. Leas invading to score the victory.

Since I mentioned that Williams Grove super sportsman winner Rich Eichelberger started his career in 1970, I'll throw in the sportsman winners from that weekend as well. And no, Eichelberger didn't crack the top five on either night. At Silver Spring on Saturday, teenager Kramer Williamson scored the win in his famed No. 73 "Pink Panther." On Sunday at Susquehanna, veteran Lee Parthemore scored the win in Jerry Burkett's No. 47.

Bryan Householder writes about dirt track racing for The York Dispatch. He can be reached at

Speedway Motors/Champion Racing Oil Central Pennsylvania Sprint Car Standings

Presented by

Driver (Wins).....................................Pts.

1. Greg Hodnett (6) 680

2. Brian Montieth (6) 542

3. Danny Dietrich (4) 456

4. Brent Marks 427

5. Lucas Wolfe (1) 363

6. Aaron Ott (1) 288

7. Alan Krimes (1) 274

8. Steve Buckwalter (2) 231

9. Lance Dewease (1) 225

10. Cory Haas 202

11. Austin Hogue 153

12. Stevie Smith (1) 135

13. Freddie Rahmer 122

14. Donnie Kreitz Jr. 113

15. Jim Siegel 112

16. Ryan Smith 105

17. Mark Smith 101

18. Robbie Kendall 94

19. Kyle Moody 91

20. Donny Schatz (1) 85

21. J.J. Grasso (1) 80

22. Tim Glatfelter 77

23. Niki Young 76

24. Adam Wilt 75

25. Davey Sammons 74


Driver (Wins).....................................Pts.

1. Doug Hammaker (2) 347

2. Brad McClelland (2) 287

3. Issac Sneeringer (3) 230

4. Matt Campbell 222

5. Cody Fletcher 195

6. Adrian Shaffer (2) 178

7. Chandler Leiby 178

8. David Holbrook 177

9. Jeff Rohrbaugh (1) 176

10. Jeff Halligan (1) 165