York College men’s basketball team honored for academics by national coaches organization


The York College men's basketball team was recognized for team academic excellence by the National Association of Basketball Coaches on Wednesday.

Central York High School graduate Jared Wagner, above, was one of a number of York College players who earned a grade-point average over 3.0, helping the Spartans earn a national honor for academic excellence. YORK DISPATCH FILE PHOTO

The Capital Athletic Conference champion Spartans advanced to the second round of the NCAA Tournament and posted 24 wins. They also had a team grade-point average of 3.19.

The Team Academic Excellence Awards, created by the NABC Committee on Academics, unveiled the award winners Wednesday. It’s given to teams with a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or better.

Nine Spartans had GPAs of 3.0 or above: seniors Blayde Reich (3.35), Dalton Myers (3.75), and Matt Scamuffo (3.76); juniors Nolan Smith (3.30) and Jared Noble (3.25); sophomores Jared Wagner (3.53), Joey Polczynski (3.52) and Darin Gordon (3.44); and freshman Chris Tracy (3.39).

Wagner is a Central York High School graduate, while Gordon is a Spring Grove grad.