York-area nightclub owners trade Fat Daddy's for Banana Max

York College's Ordakowski earns national honor


Conrad Ordakowski's impressive senior campaign for the York College men's lacrosse team just got better.

York College's Conrad Ordakowski (40) looks upfield for a teammate during the first quarter of a game against Gettysburg on Wednesday, March 8, 2017, at Gettysburg College. York College won 16-8. Ordakowski has been named a Scholar All-American.

Ordakowski was named a first-team All-American last week by the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association, becoming the first Spartan to achieve such an honor.

Over the weekend, he made more history for the program.

This past Friday, Ordakowski was named the USILA NCAA Division III Short Stick Defender of the Year, making him the first York College player in program history to earn the national individual honor. Ordakowski played in 18 of the Spartans' 21 games, collecting 31 ground balls, forcing six turnovers and recording a goal and assist, while helping York go 17-4 overall and advance to the third round of the NCAA D-III tournament.

In his career with the Spartans, Ordakowski finished with 58 games played, scooping up 126 ground balls and forcing 25 opponent turnovers, while also recording four goals and two assists.

Pair of women's lacrosse players make all-star team: Two York College women's lacrosse players were named to a senior all-star team on Friday.

Erin Mensch and Katelyn Cattrano were both selected to the 2017 Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association All-Star Team, making them two of 44 seniors chosen for the Division III game. They'll both represent the North Team.

Cattrano had a historic season for the Spartans, breaking the program record for assists in a season with 30, eclipsing the previous mark held by Jayme Verman, who had 27 in 2015. Meanwhile, Mensch was a stalwart on the York defense, starting in all 20 games. She collected 15 turnovers and picked up 10 ground balls.

The all-star game will be played this Saturday at 2 p.m. at Tierney Field at the U.S. Lacrosse headquarters in Sparks, Maryland. The Division I game will kick things off at 11:30 a.m., followed by the Division II game at 12:45 p.m.