York College men's lacrosse pair earns national honors

  • Lacrosse Magazine gave two York College men's players top honors in NCAA Division III.
  • Senior Caleb Abney was named the nation's top D-III goalie.
  • Freshman Hunter Davis was named the nation's D-III Rookie of the Year.

Two members of the York College men's lacrosse program have received national awards from Lacrosse Magazine.

Senior goalie Caleb Abney was selected the top goalie in NCAA Division III and freshman attack Hunter Davis was named the magazine's NCAA Division III Rookie of the Year.

Abney finished his career as the most decorated goalie in Spartan history. Abney concluded his career with a 53-20 record, a save percentage of .604, a 7.18 goals-against average and 702 total saves in more than 3,800 minutes of action. He owns the school record for saves (by 234 saves), save percentage, goals-against average (by 2.06 goals per game) and wins (by 31 victories).

Caleb Abney

Abney is now a two-time All-American after earning honorable mention honors in 2014. He finished his career as a three-time All-CAC goalkeeper, including being a two-time first-team pick (2014 and 2016).

"Caleb played big in so many games for us this year and over the past four years," York coach Brandon Childs said in a news release. "He was such a steadying force in the net for us. He will be hard to replace both on and off the field."

Davis made a significant impact on the Spartan squad from day one. He finished his rookie campaign with 49 points on 35 goals and 14 assists in 22 games. He recorded seven game-winning goals, two man-up goals and 39 ground balls. Davis scored at least one point in 21 of his 22 games.

Hunter Davis

"Hunter is a very gifted offensive talent," Childs said. "He has the ability to find a way to finish around the cage. I also think he is a player who will only continue to get better. He has a very high ceiling and I am excited to see how good he can become."

Davis headlines the Spartans' returning attack. Six of the Spartans' top seven scorers return for 2017.