Saquon Barkley named Penn State MVP, AP All-American

(Allentown) Morning Call (TNS)
  • Saquon Barkley has been named the Penn State football MVP.
  • Barkley rushed for 1,302 yards and 19 touchdowns this season.
  • Barkley, a sophomore, was also named a third-team AP All-American.

Penn State named running back Saquon Barkley as its 2016 MVP on Sunday.

Barkley, a sophomore from Whitehall High, rushed for 1,302 yards and scored 19 touchdowns in helping Penn State to its first Big Ten title since 2008. He was named the Big Ten's offensive player of the year and was a unanimous first-team all-conference running back. He was also selected a third-team All-American by the Associated Press on Monday.

Running back Saquon Barkley has been named the MVP of the Penn State football team.

Barkley received the award at the annual State College Quarterback Club banquet. More than 700 attended the event, with former Penn State lineman Marco Rivera serving as guest speaker.

Quarterback Trace McSorley was named the team's offensive MVP, with the defensive award going to end Garrett Sickels.

Here are this year' Penn State award-winners:

Linebacker Brandon Bell: Lions’ Pride Outstanding Senior Player Award (greatest career contribution to Penn State Football) Bell (Blue Bell, N.J.)

Receiver Gregg Garrity: Ridge Riley Award (senior for "sportsmanship, scholarship, leadership and friendship")

Center Brian Gaia: Dick Maginnis Memorial Award (outstanding offensive lineman)

Linebacker Von Walker: Bob Mitinger Memorial Award (senior who exhibits courage, character and social responsibility)

Defensive end Evan Schwan: Reid-Robinson Award (outstanding defensive lineman)

Kicker Tyler Davis: John Bruno Memorial Award (outstanding member of special teams)

Offensive lineman Derek Dowrey: Iron Lion Award (awarded to the player who demonstrates intensity and consistency in the strength and conditioning program)

Offensive lineman Tom Devenney: Outstanding Run-on Award (Run-on player who exemplifies total commitment, loyalty, hard work and courage)

Safety Malik Golden, cornerback Jordan Smith, offensive lineman Paris Palmer: Quarterback Club Special Awards

Receiver Gordon Bentley: Football Letterman’s Club Joe and SuePaterno Post-Graduate Scholarship ($5,000 scholarship to a senior to provide recognition and financial assistance for graduate school)

Long snapper Tyler Yazujian: Nittany Lion Club Academic Achievement Award (senior with highest GPA)

Offensive lineman Charlie Shuman: Public Service Award

Receiver Josh McPhearson: Scout Team special teams player of the year

Defensive end Shaka Toney, cornerback Desi Davis: Scout Team defensive players of the year

Lineman Allex Gellerstedt, running back Irvine Paye: Scout team offensive players of the year

Video director Jevin Stone: Football support staff member of the year