Penn State head coach James Franklin has been named the Sporting News National Coach of the Year.

He is the second Penn State head coach to win the honor, joining Joe Paterno, who claimed the award in 2005.

Franklin was also selected as the College Sports Madness National Coach of the Year. Additionally, he is a finalist for the 2016 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year award as presented by the Football Writers Association of America.

Franklin guided the Nittany Lions to their first Big Ten Championship since 2008 and fourth overall (1994, 2005, 2008). He led the Nittany Lions to the Big Ten East title, its second divisional title (2011). Franklin guided the Lions to a No. 5 ranking in the College Football Playoff, Associated Press and Amway Coaches polls, the highest ranking for the Nittany Lions since 2009.

At 11-2, Franklin guided the Nittany Lions to their sixth 11-win season since Penn State joined the Big Ten. The Nittany Lions are riding a nine-game winning streak, which is the program's longest since 2009.

Franklin and the Nittany Lions are heading to the Rose Bowl on Monday, Jan. 2 at 5 p.m. against Southern California.

Barkley an All-American: PSU sophomore running back Saquon Barkley has been named to the Sporting News All-America second team.

He is the first Penn State running back to garner All-America accolades since Larry Johnson captured first team laurels in 2002. He is also the first offensive player to take home All-America honors since Allen Robinson (first team) and John Urschel (third team) in 2013.

Barkley is the 2016 Graham-George Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year and the 2016 Ameche-Dayne Big Ten Running Back of the Year. Barkley ranks second in the Big Ten and ranks 32nd in FBS in all-purpose yards (128.15) and paces the Big Ten and ranks ninth in FBS in total touchdowns with 19. The sophomore back is third in the conference and 33rd nationally with 100.2 rushing yards per game.