Hamilton named to Biletnikoff Award watch list


Redshirt sophomore wide out DaeSean Hamilton was named to the Biletnikoff Award preseason watch list by The Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc. Hamilton was previously named to the Maxwell Award watch list for the College Football MVP.

The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football. Any player, regardless of position (wide receiver, tight end, slot back, and running back) who catches a pass is eligible for the award. As such, the Biletnikoff Award recognizes the outstanding receiver, not merely outstanding wide receiver.

Bobby Engram was the inaugural award winner in 1994 and is the only Penn State player to claim the honor.

Hamilton earned third-team Freshman All-America accolades from Athlon Sports last season after leading the Big Ten and ranking 28th nationally with 6.3 receptions per game. His 82 receptions set the school record for catches by a freshman and rank No. 2 on the all-time charts behind Allen Robinson's school-record 97 catches from 2013. He became the third straight Penn State wide receiver to lead the Big Ten in receptions and was named second-team All-Big Ten following his first season on the field. His 899 yards also set the PSU freshman record, while his 14-catch effort vs. Ohio State are the most catches in a game by a Nittany Lion in program history.

The 2015 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on Dec. 10, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast 7 p.m. until 9 p.m. on ESPN. College Football Hall of Famer and Heisman Trophy winner Desmond Howard will present the 2015 Biletnikoff Award winner on the show.

The Nittany Lions now have six players on eight different preseason watch lists: Kyle Carter (Mackey Award - Nation's Top Tight End), Christian Hackenberg (Maxwell Award - College Football MVP), DaeSean Hamilton (Maxwell Award - College Football MVP, Biletnikoff Award – Nation's Top Wide Receiver), Jordan Lucas (Nagurski Trophy - Defensive Player of the Year), Angelo Mangiro (Rimmington Trophy – Nation's Top Center) and Anthony Zettel (Bednarik Award – National Defensive Player of the Year, Nagurski Trophy - Defensive Player of the Year, Outland Trophy - Nation's Top Interior Lineman, Lombardi Award – Nation's Top Lineman or Linebacker).