NCAA D-II field hockey championships coming to region


The NCAA will hold two of its championship events just a dozen miles from the York County border in the near future

Millersville University has been selected as the host site for the 2019 and 2021 NCAA Division II Field Hockey Championships. The site of competition for the national semifinals and championship games will be Chryst Field at Biemesderfer Stadium. 

It's the first time that Millersville has been awarded an NCAA championship to host on campus. Millersville previously served as the host institution for the NCAA Division II Men's Golf Championship at Hershey Country Club East Course in 2013. The 2019 event will be held Nov. 22-24, with the 2021 championships set for Nov. 19-21. 

"I am completely ecstatic right now for Millersville University to be selected hosts of the 2019 and 2021 NCAA Division II Field Hockey Championships," Millersville field hockey head coach Shelly Behrens said in a news release. "It is such an honor to be able to showcase our university and facilities and host the best of the best in Division II field hockey — just incredible. To have our first national championship here on our campus is something we all will take great pride in and make it the best championship experience for Division II field hockey."

Millersville field hockey is no stranger to the national championship environment. The Marauders have reached the NCAA Division II Tournament in four consecutive seasons, reaching the national semifinals in 2013 and 2016 while winning the national championship in 2014. 

Tuesday, the NCAA announced 613 host sites for championships from 2019-2022. The NCAA received more than 3,000 bid submissions from NCAA member schools, conferences, sports commissions and cities vying to host predetermined rounds of 84 of the NCAA's 90 championships.


PSU gets Women's Frozen Four: Another Pennsylvania university will play host to an NCAA Division I championship.

The NCAA selected Penn State to host the NCAA Division I Women’s Frozen Four in 2022 at Pegula Ice Arena on the school's main campus.

Penn State will host NCAA Hockey Championships for the first time, with the men’s and women’s hockey programs having recently completed their fifth seasons as varsity programs.

The National Collegiate Women’s Hockey Championship in Pegula Ice Arena is set for March 18-20, 2022, with two semifinal games and the national championship contest. The Women’s Frozen Four began in 2001 and Clarkson won the 2017 title.

Pegula Ice Arena opened in October, 2013, and is the home of the Penn State men’s and women’s hockey teams. The Pegula Ice Arena has a capacity of 5,782 with a standing-room capacity exceeding 6,000.