DIRT-TRACK RACING: Danny Dietrich grabs $7,000 triumph at Lincoln Speedway

  • Danny Dietrich won Saturday's sprint-car feature at Lincoln Speedway.
  • The Pennsylvania Sprint Car Speedweek victory was worth $7,000.
  • Freddie Rahmer opened Speedweek with a $5,000 victory at Williams Grove Speedway.

Danny Dietrich raced to his sixth Lincoln Speedway sprint-car win of the season in Saturday’s Kevin Gobrecht Memorial Race.

The 30-lap race was the second leg of Pennsylvania Sprint Car Speedweek.

Danny Dietrich

Dietrich’s win was worth $7,000.

Trey Starks took the early-race lead from the second starting position and held the top spot until pole-sitter Rico Abreu slipped past on the 11th lap. Two laps later, Dietrich, who started fourth, took over the top spot from Abreu. He then had to fend off Lance Dewease in the closing stages of the race for the win. Dewease finished second, with Abreu, James McFadden and Freddie Rahmer in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Alan Krimes, Brandon Rahmer, Lucas Wolfe, Fawn Grove’s Matt Campbell and Starks.

Hanover’s Mason Chaney won the legends race, with York’s Lucas Montogomery in second. Hayden Pascoe, Chris Transeau and Travis Perry completed the top five.



Freddie Rahmer triumphs at Grove:Freddie Rahmer opened Pennsylvania Sprint Car Speedweek with a $5,000 win at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday.

The win was Rahmer’s first in Speedweek, a series his father once dominated with 30 career series wins and 13 titles.

Rahmer started sixth and took the lead from T.J. Stutts on the 14th of 25 laps. Stutts finished second, with McFadden, Wolfe and Brian Montieth in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Starks, Dale Blaney, Spring Grove’s Greg Hodnett, Aaron Ott and Dietrich.

Hanover’s Troy Wagaman Jr. won his first career Williams Grove 358 sprint win, leading all 20 laps to best Hellam’s Adrian Shaffer. Kevin Nouse finished third, with Phil Walter and Dillsburg’s Brie Hershey in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Dover’s Chad Trout, T.J. DeHaven, Dillsburg’s Chris Frank, Jared Esh and Brett Wanner.

Edkin takes Firecracker 40 at Susquehanna:Kenny Edkin led all 40 laps to win the Firecracker 40 for the super-sportsman racers at Susquehanna Speedway on Saturday evening.

Edkin’s third win of the season came over Steve Fannasy, with Lewisberry’s Scott Dellinger in third. Devin Beidel and Russ Mitten completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Chase Gutshall, Frankie Herr, Jay Fannasy, Dillsburg’s Rich Eichelberger and Fawn Grove’s Paul Miller.

Newberrytown’s J.R. Rodriquez was the limited-late-model winner over Sean Merkel, Cameron Benyou, York’s Sam Rial and Matt Murphy.

Ryan Smith won the street-stock feature over Jim Palm, Kory Sites, York Haven’s Matt Adams and Craig Morgan.

Bittinger leads way at Trailway: Mike Bittinger won Friday’s 358 sprint feature at Trailway Speedway.

Bittinger’s first win of the season came over David Holbrook. Steve Owings finished third, followed by Hanover drivers Issac Sneeringer and Joe Trone Jr. in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Cody Fletcher, Spring Grove’s Zach Eucalano, J.B. Cunningham, Wyatt Hinkle and Colt White.

Chris Transeau won the legends feature over Chris McKinney, with Tim O’ Sheehan, Jason Gastley and Rick Hartwig in the top five.

Jesse Snyder was the 600cc micro-sprint winner over Garrett Bard, Brad Weber, Chris Reed and Zane Rudisill.

Brian Walls won the street-stock feature.

Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.