Ceremony set for Hall of Famers, Shipley Award winners


The York Area Sports Hall of Fame will officially welcome three new members on Sunday, June 25.

Boxing trainer/promoter Julio Alvarez, basketball coach/player Parrish Petry and bowling standout Don Smith will be officially inducted that day during a 1 p.m. ceremony at the Heritage Hills Terrace Room at 2700 Mount Rose Ave.

Julio Alvarez

The 2016-2017 Shipley Award winners are also invited to attend the ceremony. The Shipley winners will receive their awards and be recognized for their athletic accomplishments. The Shipley Awards are given to outstanding young athletes.

Invitations for the ceremony can be received by contacting local high school athletic directors or Chuck Abbott at chasabbo@gmail.com. The deadline for ticket orders is Thursday, June 15.

Two $1,000 scholarships will be awarded to two seniors who will be furthering their education during the next school year. Scholarship applications can be received by contacting Abbott. Any present or past Shipley winners who are graduating this school year are permitted to apply for the scholarships. Scholarship applications must be received no later than Monday, June 12.

Don Smith
Parrish Petry