York Open set for this weekend at Royal Manchester

  • The York Open features a field of approximately 80 players, both pros and amateurs.
  • The event will be played Friday and Saturday at Royal Manchester Golf Links.
  • Braden Shattuck from Aston, Pennsylvania, is the defending champion.

A strong field of approximately 80 standout golfers from throughout the mid-Atlantic region will compete in the York Open at Royal Manchester Golf Links on Friday and Saturday.

Bobby Stiffler, the leader on the York County Amateur Golf Association War of the Roses points list, is scheduled to compete in this weekend's York Open at Royal Manchester Golf Links.

Action gets started at 8 a.m. Friday. The event is organized by the York County Amateur Golf Association.

The 36-hole stroke-play event will feature open and senior divisions. The open division will play from the championship tees and the senior division (50 and over) will play from the white tees.

The field will be cut to low 25 players and ties after 18 holes on Friday.

The final 18-hole round will then be played Saturday.

The low pro is guaranteed $2,500. If an amateur wins the open division, he'll get a $750 gift certificate.

Braden Shattuck of Aston, Pennsylvania, is back to defend his title. Terry Hertzog, the 2013 champion, is also in the field.

In addition, a large number of the better pro and amateur players from York County are also competing, including Bon Air Country Club's Bobby Stiffler, who is the leader on the YCAGA War of Roses points list. No. 3 Bob Ruby, No. 4 Don Dimoff and No. 5 John Lowder Jr. are also expected to play. No. 2 Matt Henry was not on the entry list.


McMurray wins Briarwood junior title: Hugh McMurray fired a 77 to win the Briarwood Junior Championship recently.

He finished eight shots clear of runner-up John Peters. Blanke Anderson finished third.

Elijah Arnold won the Briarwood Nine-Hole Junior Championship with a 54, one shot better than second-place Nick Rizzuto. Jacob Hasson took third.

Lawson Leeper was the Red Tee champion with a 43. Mary Murphy was the runner-up, with Mitch Aughebaugh in third and Dallas Inch in fourth.