York's Billet wins York County Nationals late model feature at Susquehanna

Staff Writer

NEWBERRYTOWN – York's Chase Billet won his fourth BRC Late Model feature of the season at the Susquehanna Speedway Park at the 15th Annual York County Nationals on Saturday Night.

Billet also added his name to the Billet Cup, named after his late-uncle Carl Billet, for winning the 2015 Late Model Track Championship. Eddie Richards of Manchester won his second feature in a row in the 25-lap Street Stock race. Ronnie Buck from Annville won his first 20-lap Xtreme Stock Car feature event of the year. York Haven's Daryl Sipe won the 15-lap Road Warrior race. Red Lion's Thomas Thompson won his second 12-lap Mini Van feature of the season. Phillip Thompson won the 20-lap Classic Car feature race. The EMMR Vintage Cars also ran an on-track exhibition before the features began. Daryl Sipe also wonthe Small Car Demolition Derby at the end of the night.

Chase Billet started the 32-lap BRC Late Model feature from the fourth position and grabbed the lead at the drop of the green flag. Billet set the pace and never looked back, taking the checkers at the end over Cameron Benyou in the special BRC Superior Products night. Gene Knaub finished in third, followed by Grant Adams in fourth. Randy Stoudt came across the finish line in fifth. Billet and J.R. Rodriguez were the heat race winners.

Scott Thunberg grabbed the early lead of the 25-lap Street Stock feature and received immediate pressure from Jimmy Combs and Eddie Richards. With two laps remaining, Thunberg had a tire start to deflate and began to drop backwards. Richards took the lead and went on to claim his second consecutive feature race. Jasen Geesaman finished in the runner-up spot, followed by Jimmy Combs in third. Chris Derr and Jim Palm Jr. finished fourth and fifth respectively. Scott Thunberg held on at the end to finish sixth and claimed the 2015 SSP Street Stock track championship. Richards and Geesaman were the heat race winners.

The 20-lap Xtreme Stock Car feature began with Ronnie Buck taking the early lead from the pole position. Buck set the pace and captured the victory unchallenged. Runner-up Alex Updegraff claimed the 2015 Xtreme Stock Car track championship with his finish. Todd Knaub came home third with Kyle Emig following in fourth. Michael Smith finished fifth and was awarded the Madison House Hard Charger award after starting the race 14th. Brian Rehebin and Dan Snyder won the heat races.

Daryl Sipe won the 15-lap Road Warrior race as well as claiming the 2015 SSP Road Warrior track championship. Travis Brown finished second place in the race and second place in the season-long track championship by just two points. Richard Grim finished third, followed by Tim Osheehan and Dennis Dorosz in fourth and fifth places respectively. Brown and Osheehan were heat race winners.

Thomas Thompson took the early lead from the front row at the start of the 12-lap Mini Van race and led from start-to-finish, taking his second win of the season. Richard Wolfe settled for second as Zakari Kitner corssed the line third and won the 2015 SSP Mini Van track championship. Robert Reyes finished in fourth and Dennis Dorosz rounded out the top five.

Phillip Thompson took the lead on lap 13 of the 20-lap Classic Car feature and went on to take the victory over Charlie Summers. Joe Brown finished third, followed by Neal Reamer. Steve Cantwell rounded out the top five. Summers and Thompson won their respective heat races.