Inexperienced Delone Catholic girls' basketball team ready to start a new era

DIRT TRACK RACING: Spring Grove's Hodnett wins more than $10,000 with Port Royal triumph


Spring Grove's Greg Hodnett drove to victory in Saturday's Living Legends Dream Race at Port Royal.

Hodnett collected $10,820 for his victory in the 35-lap event.

Hodnett started eighth and didn't take the lead from race-long leader Aaron Ott until the 33rd lap of the race. Ott finished second, with Brock Zearfoss in third. Mike Erdley and Ryan Taylor completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Steve Buckwalter, Danny Dietrich, Mike Wagner, Lucas Wolfe and Fairview Township's Pat Cannon.

Dan Stone won the late model feature for his first Port win of the season. Andy Haus finished second, with Matt Parks, Trent Brenneman and Mitch Hack in the top five.


Cannon triumphs at Grove: Cannon scored his first win of the season in Friday's sprint car feature at Williams Grove.

Cannon grabbed the lead from Rick Lafferty on the 14th of 25 laps and held off Hodnett for the $3,720 win. Wolfe was third, followed by Spring Grove's Tim Glatfelter, Lafferty, Lance Dewease, Brian Montieth, Dover's Austin Hogue, Alan Krimes and Buckwalter.

Doug Hammaker won the 358 sprint feature, with York's Chase Dietz in second. Kevin Nouse, Chandler Leiby, and Phil Walter completed the first five. Rounding out the top 10 were Fawn Grove's Matt Campbell, Kody Lehman, Todd Reed, Dillsburg's Rich Eichelberger and Bill Stine.

Saturday at the Grove, Steve Fannasy got his first win of the season in the super sportsman feature. Fannasy's win came over Dover's Chad Trout, with Kenny Edkin in third. Gregg Foster and Mike Enders made up the top five, with Chad Criswell, Lewisberry's Scott Dellinger, Bobby Hockenberry, Tony Jackson and Eichelberger in the top 10.

Matt Nailor won the limited late model feature over Ron Kline, Shaun Jones, Dover's Billy Wampler and Stoverstown's Cam Zeigler. Jeff Haag was the street stock winner.

Leiby victorious at Lincoln: Leiby won Saturday's Nouse Signs and Graphics Summer Series 358 sprint event at Lincoln.

Leiby started fourth, and took the lead from Windsor's Ryan Higgins on the third lap of the 25-lap event. Leiby's first win of the season was worth $2,700.

Hammaker finished second, with Nouse in third. Dillsburg's Chris Arnold and York's Jeff Rohrbaugh completed the first five. Rounding out the top 10 were Campbell, who came back from a tire change on the 20th lap, Hellam's Adrian Shaffer, Higgins, Seth Kearchner and Cody Fletcher. Bob Stough came out on top of the tight three-car battle to win the Legends feature over York's Bill Diehl and Spring Grove's Harlon Leppo. Chad Earnst and Joe Ehrisman completed the top five.

Shane Sixeas won the mini stock feature.

Stutts victorious at Selinsgrove: T.J. Stutts won Saturday's 360 sprint feature at Selinsgrove.

Stutts bested Derek Locke for the win, with Jason Shultz, Eric Parker and Nate Snyder in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Larry Kelleher, John Braim, Kevin Albert, Jim Shuster and Mallie Shuster.

Tavenner wins at Hagerstown: Brian Tavenner scored his first career late model win Saturday at Hagerstown. The $3,100 victory was the first of any kind for Tavenner since a pure stock win in 2005. Keith Jackson finished second, with Tyler Hershey, Marvin Winters and Andy Anderson in the top five.

Rodney Walls bested Hanover's Bobby Beard in the late model sportsman feature, while Chris Ebersole won the pure stock feature, Dover's Matt Wampler won the hobby stock event and Kurt Welsh was the classic car winner.

Sneeringer leads way at Trailway: Spring Grove's Issac Sneeringer won Friday's 358 sprint feature at Trailway for his division-leading fifth win of the season.

Brad McClelland finished second, with Fletcher, Wyatt Hinkle and Spring Grove's Zach Eucalano in the top five. Nat Tuckey, York Haven's Brandon Ort, Kearchner, Brandon Noel and Higgins completed the top 10.

Travis Scott won the 600cc micro sprint feature over Brad Weber, Jim Young, Hannah Riser and Hayden Miller.

Matt Chronister was the limited stock winner and Jeremy Stremmel won the street stock event