York County candidates file petitions for office

Greg Gross
  • Only three seats in the state General Assembly in York County will be contested
  • The 92nd and 95th House districts will be up for grabs

The majority of York County's delegation to the Pennsylvania House will not face challengers this election season.

Of the seven House districts in the county, only Democrat Kevin Schreiber, of York City, is being challenged, according to nomination petitions filed by the Tuesday deadline.

Republican state Reps. Stan Saylor, of Windsor Township; Seth Grove, of Dover Township; Kristin Phillips-Hill, of York Township; Keith Gillespie, of Hellam Township; and Kate Klunk, of Hanover, will not face challengers in the primary. State Sen, Richard Alloway, R-Franklin, Adams and York counties, also is running uncontested.

However. voters in the northwestern part of the county will have seven candidates to choose from as they select a new state representative (92nd House District) and senator (31st Senate District) to fill vacant seats currently held by Republicans Rep. Mike Regan and Sen. Pat Vance.

Still, any of the candidates could possibly see a challenger in the November general election if a third-party or write-in candidate launches a campaign.

Here's a look at who filed nomination petitions with the Pennsylvania Department of State on Tuesday, the last day to file, to appear on the primary ballot. The primary is April 26.

Pa. 196th House District:

  • Seth Grove, incumbent (R)​

Pa 169th House District:

  • Kate Klunk, incumbent (R)

Pa. 95th House District:

  • Kevin Schreiber, incumbent (D)
  • Joel Sears (R)

Pa. 94th House District

  • Stan Saylor, incumbent (R)​

Pa. 93rd House District:

  • Kristin Phillips-Hill, incumbent (R)

Pa. 92nd House District:

  • Dawn Keefer (R)
  • Kraig Bruder (R)
  • Anthony Pugliese (R)

Pa. 47th House District:

  • Keith Gillespie, incumbent (R)

Pa. 33rd Senate District:

  • Richard Alloway, incumbent (R)

Pa. 31st Senate District:

  • Mike Regan (R)
  • Scott Harper (R)
  • Jon Ritchie (R)
  • Brice Arndt (R)

Pa. Attorney General

  • John Morganelli (D)
  • Josh Shapiro (D)
  • Stephen Zappala (D)
  • Joe Peters (R)
  • John Rafferty (R)

Pa. Auditor General:

  • Eugene DePasquale, incumbent (D) 
  • John Brown (R)

Pa. Treasurer:

  • Albert Knoll (D)
  • Joseph Torella (D)
  • Otto Voit (R)

U.S. 4th Congressional District:

  • Scott Perry, incumbent (R)
  • Josh Burkholder (D)


  • Bernie Sanders (D)
  • Hillary Clinton (D)
  • Donald Trump (R)
  • Dr. Ben Carson (R)
  • Jeb Bush (R)
  • Ted Cruz (R)
  • Marco Rubio (R)
  • John Kasich (R)

U.S. Senate:

  • Pat Toomey, incumbent (R)
  • John Fetterman (D)
  • Katie McGinty (D)
  • Joe Sestak (D)
  • Joseph Vodvarka (D)

As of Wednesday, there were 273,170 registered voters in York County. Of those, 97,021 are registered Democrats, 133,052 are registered Republicans, and the rest are registered with minor parties, according to the county elections office.