York County primary ballots finalized

Jason Addy
  • The slate of candidates for the May 16 primary in York County has been released by the county elections office.
  • The full list of candidates and primary races can be found on the York County Voting and Elections Office website.

The ballots for the May 16 primary in York County are now set.

Candidates for district attorney, magisterial judge, mayor, borough council, school board and tax collector, among other municipal offices, were required to file their nominating petitions with the York County Voting and Elections Office by Tuesday.

York County

Court of Common Pleas: Nine candidates are running in the primary for three open seats on the York County Court of Common Pleas bench.

Amber Anstine Kraft, Tim Barker, Chuck Hobbs, James Mann, Matt Menges, Kathleen Prendergast, Sandra Thompson, Peter Vaughn and Clyde Vedder are running to fill the seats vacated by the retirements of three Common Pleas judges.

District attorney: Two well-known York countians are running to replace Tom Kearney as York County district attorney.

Chief Deputy Prosecutor Dave Sunday has Kearney’s endorsement and will face Jonelle Harter Eshbach, who began her legal career with the district attorney’s office in 1988.

Sunday and Eshbach are both running for the Republican nomination. There are no candidates for the Democratic nomination for the office.

District judge: Nine magisterial district judge seats are up for election this year, with seven incumbents running to keep their seats.

Hanover-area District Judge Dwayne Dubs will face Christopher Topper, Spring Grove-area District Judge Thomas Reilly will face Daniel Press and Lewisberry-area District Judge Scott Gross will face Nathan Volpi.

District Judges Scott Laird, Keith Albright, Dave Eshbach and Richard Thomas are running unopposed for re-election.

Three candidates have thrown their hats into the race for the New Freedom-area district judge seat — Lindy Sweeney, Mike Caum and Mike Ebersole.

Donna Elicker and Jeffrey Sneeringer will square off for the district judge seat that covers Penn and West Manheim townships.

All 15 district judge candidates have cross-filed to appear on Republican and Democratic party ballots during the primaries.

Mayor: The primary features mayoral races in 28 municipalities in the county, though only five of the top-executive posts are contested.

The race for York City mayor is hotly contested, with Mayor Kim Bracey facing two challenges for the Democratic nomination from York City Council President Michael Helfrich and Andrew Lehigh Sr.

Bracey is running for her third term as mayor.

Yvonne Schrum will challenge Dallastown Mayor Terry Meyers in the Republican primary, and 25-year Hallam Mayor Paul McCleary will face Glenn Wascovich in the Democratic primary. Kathy Horne and Walter Hughes are running to earn the Republican nomination to replace Red Lion Mayor Steven Kopp.

In the Republican primary race for Windsor mayor, incumbent Larry Markel will take on Tom Rupp.

In Stewartstown, Mayor Robert Herzberger is running for the Republican nomination and Terrell Turner is running for the Democratic nomination, leaving the two to face off in the November general election.

Mayoral races in Cross Roads, Dillsburg, Dover, East Prospect, Fawn Grove, Felton, Franklintown, Hanover, Jefferson, Loganville, Manchester, Mount Wolf, New Freedom, New Salem, North York, Shrewsbury, Wellsville, West York, Wrightsville, Yoe, York Haven and Yorkana boroughs are all uncontested.

York County offices: Three candidates will appear on the Republican ballot for York County controller.

Greg Bower, Julie Haertsch and Bonner Smith are running to replace current three-term Republican York County Controller Robert Green, who is not running for re-election.

The race for York County recorder of deeds is also hotly contested with five candidates — three Republicans and two Democrats — vying to replace Randi Reisinger, who is retiring after working in the office for 38 years.

Laura Shue, Brad Daugherty and Ron Miller will seek the Republican nomination, while Maribel Burgos and Alan Vandersloot will seek the Democratic nomination.

York County Coroner Pam Gay is running unopposed for a second term in office.

Other York City races: York City Controller AliceAnne Frost is running for re-election unopposed, after being appointed to replace former controller Robert Lambert in January.

Three incumbents on the York City Council — Henry Nixon, Renee Nelson and Judy Ritter-Dickson — are running to keep their seats but face a challenge in the Democratic primary from Anne Clark, director of community outreach for Lincoln Charter School.

A full list of primary candidates can be found here: York County May 16 Primary Candidate List.