People You Know for Nov. 18, 2015

York Dispatch

Email items for this column to


Kutztown University: Phil Vera, of York, was part of the KU Visual Arts Program, which was invited to participate in the 39th annual Philadelphia Museum of Art Craft Show, held Nov. 12-15.

Lebanon Valley College: More than 30 students spent part of the spring 2015 semester translating a children's book, "Sammy's Physical Therapy Advendure," into different languages. Local students who were involved in the Spanish translation are Karla Bingaman, of Brogue; Jordan Heavel, of Hanover; and Austin De La Ronde and Allonne Wilson-Brennan, both of York.

Lincoln Memorial University, College of Veterinary Medicine: Jessica L. Grove, of Windsor, received a white coat during a ceremony on Oct. 3 for the Class of 2019.

Susquehanna University: Local students who were elected as representatives in the Student Government Association are Madison Summers, of New Freedom, Alexis Aument, of Thomasville, and Michael Doran, of York.


East Stroudsburg University: Sarah K. Yinger, of Dover, spring semester.

University of the Sciences: Ellen Noel, of Hanover, summer semester.


YTI Career Institute, York and Motorcycle Technology Center: The fall commencement ceremony was Nov. 18. Graduates are:

Motorsports technology: Tiari Glasby, of Felton; Jordan A. Franklin, of Red Lion; Dennis E. Thompson, of Seven Valleys; Juan F Winters, of York; and Nathan A. Kessler, of York Haven.

Business administration, business operations management: Leslie A. Humphrey, of Glen Rock, and Eddie Williams, of York.

Computer aided drafting and design: Alexander K. Jones, of Hanover; David Warren Jr., of Hellam; Alexander S. Ramsawak, of Windsor; and Jesse R. Mundis, of York.

Computer systems specialist: Troy J. Staub, of Hanover; Michele L. Frey, of New Park; Alan Hale, of York; and David R. Horton, of York Haven.

Dental assisting: Amber N. Rahn, of Dover; Alexa M. Prebich, of East Berlin; Hani Lee, of Spring Grove; and Lina M. Alvarado, April R. Eady and Kaela L. Gonzalez, all of York.

Electrical technology: Michael D. Bowers, of Dillsburg; Bradley R. Howard, of Etters; Hunter Kann, of Mount Wolf; Gregory K. Dickson, of Shrewsbury; and Jorge A. Mercado, Ratha Pim and Anthony E. Washington, all of York.

Electronics engineering technology: Shannon L. Boyer, of Dallastown; Daniel L. McKinney, of Hanover; and Christopher B. Smith, of York.

Heating, air conditioning & refrigeration technology: Tyler A. Capps and Benjamin A. Minshall, both of Airville; Kevin J. Gumerlock, Chad E. Landis and Robert E. Zeltwanger, all of Dover; Rein A. Pold, of Dillsburg; Dillon P. Buhl and Christopher M. Toomey, both of Hanover; and Kyle M. Smith, of York.

Medical assistant: Kelsey S. Stayrook, of East Berlin; Brittany N. Staub, of Hanover; Marissa N. Arena, of Lewisberry; Brittni N. Flawd, of Manchester; Robin L. Rudacille, of Mount Wolf; Samantha M. Bennett, of New Park; Jennifer C. Ayers, of Spring Grove; Brittany N. Crumling, of Windsor; and Kaelynn N. Kipp, Brenda L. Martin, Angela M. Stough and Amy M. Zuver, all of York.

Pharmacy technician: Sabrina R. Mitchem, of Hanover; Monique L. Foster, of Red Lion; Stephanie L. Seay, of Windsor; and Cynthia C. Anderson, Daisy Nunez Cisneros and Tayyiba H. Siddiqui, all of York.

Veterinary technician: Brittnee R. McClain, of Abbottstown; Stephanie N. Miller and Tiffany A. Smith, both of Hanover; Sara J. Kennedy, of New Cumberland; Jessica McKenzie, of Seven Valleys; Julia R. Sheffer, of Stewartstown; and Jeffrey O. Fleischer and Jazmine E. Holness, both of York.


Lycoming College: Bethany Richardson, of York, was inducted into Lambda Pi Eta, the National Communication Association's official honor society.

Mary Baldwin College: Hilary Therit, of Hanover, was named to the spring 2015 honors list.

Susquehanna University: Local students who were named University Scholars are Austin Grubb, of Hanover; Jamie Marrs and Shelby McGuigan, both of Mount Wolf; and Abby Conway, of York.

Susquehanna University: Shea McKinney, of York, a first-year student, has been named to the honors program.


Stevenson University: Shelby Walter, of Spring Grove, a women's lacrosse player, helped her team, the Mustangs, achieve selection as a 2015 IWLACA Division III Academic Honor Squad, and Jessica Bossalina, of Hanover, was elected president of Mustang activities and programming, 2015-2016 school year.


Army National Guard: Pvt. Natalie Sola Garcia, of York, graduated from basic combat training, Fort Jackson, Columbia, S.C.

Air Force: Airman Daniel D. Warfel, of York, graduated from basic military training, Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, Texas.

Army Reserve: Pvt. Patrick J. Prencipe, of York County, graduated from basic combat training, Fort Jackson, Columbia, S.C.

Army National Guard: Pvt. Cody C. Kitzmiller, of Spring Grove, graduated from basic combat training, Fort Jackson, Columbia, S.C.