Kristin Phillips-Hill named to Pa. Senate leadership

Matt Enright
York Dispatch

A York County Republican has been named to a key leadership role during the next legislative session in Harrisburg.

State Sen. Kristin Phillips-Hill will serve as the majority caucus chair for the 2023-24 session. In that role, she will work alongside Sen. Kim Ward, R-Westmoreland County, who will replace the retiring Jake Corman as the new Senate pro tempore — the first woman to be appointed to the third-highest post in state government.

“I am grateful for the trust of my colleagues to serve in this capacity,” Phillips-Hill said Tuesday. “I look forward to working with my colleagues to find commonsense solutions that benefit all Pennsylvanians and will make our Commonwealth a better place to live, work and raise a family.”

State Sen. Kristen Phillips-Hill, R-York Township, speaks during the groundbreaking ceremony for YMCA of York and York County's Urban Park in York City, Wednesday, May 19, 2021. Dawn J. Sagert photo

As caucus chair, Phillips-Hill will preside over Senate Republican Caucus meetings to review legislation and amendments as well as work with the new Senate majority leader, Joe Pittman, R-Indiana County, and Senate Majority Whip Ryan Aument, R-Lancaster County, on the Senate's voting calendar.

More:Republicans retain York County legislative seats despite challengers

More:There's snow in the forecast for York County

More:Two killed in Poland when Russian missile crosses border, US intelligence says

Prior to her appointment as caucus chair, Phillips-Hill chaired the Senate Communications and Technology Committee. According to her office, she is the first senator in leadership from the 28th District since former state Sen. Mike Waugh held the same position from 2006 to 2014.

>> Please consider subscribing to support local journalism.  

Before her election to the Senate in 2018, Phillips-Hill won election in the 93rd House district in 2014, winning re-election to that seat in 2016.

Phillips-Hill won re-election last week, defeating Democrat Judith McCormick-Higgins with 67% of the vote, according to unofficial results.

Other key leadership positions announced Tuesday include Sen. Scott Martin, R-Lancaster County, as chair of the Senate Appropriations Committee, and Sen. Camera Bartolotta, R-Washington County, as majority caucus secretary.

— Reach Matt Enright via email at menright@yorkdispatch.com or via Twitter at @Matthew_Enright.