Northeastern waiting to see what changes new coach brings: 2022 football preview

Election results: Contested township supervisor, commissioner races in York County

Tina Locurto
York Dispatch

Several townships in York County saw contested races between candidates competing for supervisor and commissioner positions.

The early results could change.

York County officials were still trying to tally the votes Wednesday, Nov. 6, a day after an election marred by problems with new voting machines and long lines that frustrated voters and prompted the state GOP to seek an injunction.

The county's election website began showing results of some races around midnight Tuesday, but the site Wednesday was not indicating how many precincts had reported — meaning it was not known how many votes still needed to be counted.

In Carroll Township, where two seats for supervisor are open, two Republicans, Kelly Wall and Timothy Kelly, swept the board, besting Democrat Richard Rocco.

Wall received 748 votes, and Kelly's votes totaled 636.

In Conewago Township, John MacDonald, running as both a Democrat and Republican, beat out independent candidate Marlin Cutshall by more than 700 votes. 

In Franklin Township, Republican Mark Wenrich secured the role of supervisor with 627 votes, beating Democrat Nancy Hogan-Rohrbaugh, who received 266 votes.

Republican Paul King narrowly won a seat as supervisor in Heidelberg Township, beating out Democrat Larry Sterner by only 26 votes.

Two seats for supervisor were available in Newberry Township, secured by Republican David Kirkpatrick and Clair Wintermyer, who ran as both a Republican and Democrat. 

Kirkpatrick and Wintermyer beat out Democrat Sherilyn Kanyuck, who received 613 votes. Wintermyer and Kirkpatrick received 1,492 and 1,257 votes, respectively. 

In Peach Bottom Township, Republican David Gemmill won the single seat available on the board with 479 votes, beating out Democrat Jeffrey Griffith, who received 144 votes.

In Penn Township, four candidates were vying for three seats for township commissioner. 

Three Republicans, Mark Elksnis, Michael Brown and Joseph Klunk, swept the race. Democrat Raymond Van De Castle did not secure enough votes for a seat.

Elksnis, Brown and Klunk received 1,121, 1,384 and 900 votes, respectively.

In Warrington Township's race for two supervisor seats, Republican Zachary Fickes and John Dockery, who ran as both a Republican and Democrat, came out on top. 

Fickes and Dockery received 654 and 527 votes, respectively, beating Democrat David Calderone, who received 276 votes. 

In West Manchester Township, Republican Dave Markel narrowly beat Democrat William Niehenke by 99 votes.

In West Manheim Township, two seats were available for three candidates. 

Jeremy Ault and Kyle Krysiak, both Republicans, beat Democrat Sylvia Musser. Ault and Krysiak received 749 and 617 votes, respectively, while Musser received 419.

Lastly, in York Township's 5th Ward, Republican Paul Knepper secured the township commissioner role, beating Democrat Michael Patashna by 256 votes.

— Reach Tina Locurto at or on Twitter at @tina_locurto.