York City School Board election results boast little change


With 16 of 17 precincts reporting, the York City School Board will remain mostly unchanged — even though more than half of its seats were up for grabs.

Seven seats were open on the nine-member school board. Five were for four-year terms, and the remaining two, two-year terms.

All five of the available four-year terms were filled by incumbent board members, all of whom ran unopposed.

Democrat and vice president Michael Miller was elected to a four-year term in 2011 and will serve an additional four years with the board.

Michael Breeland and Diane Glover Brown, both Democrats, in 2012 were elected to two-year terms and were both elected on Tuesday to serve another four years.

Incumbent James Sawor last year was appointed to fill a spot left vacant by Rev. Aaron Willford, and Lois Garnett, a former teacher, was appointed in March after Glen Mendice resigned. Both Sawor and Garnett nabbed the final two open four-year terms.

The seats left vacant by former board members Sandie Walker, who on Tuesday was elected to the York City Council, and Marshall Leonard, who did not seek re-election at the end of his four-year term, were filled by Juanita Kirkland, a Democrat and Dave Moser, a Libertarian.

They will each serve two-year terms with the York City School Board.

The race was technically uncontested, which means there were just enough names on the ballot to fill all of the board's vacancies.

James Harris, a Democrat, last week announced his intention to run a write-in campaign against Moser for a seat on the board. He was ultimately unsuccessful.

— Reach Jessica Schladebeck at jschladebeck@yorkdispatch.com.