Hill-Evans, Helfrich and Walker take city council seats


Apparently, no stealth write-in campaign brought any surprises to the York City Council election.

With all 17 city precincts reporting unofficial results, all three Democratic candidates who ran won the three open seats.

Council President Carol Hill-Evans, who has served on city council for almost eight years, and Councilman Michael Helfrich, who has served one four-year term, won another term.

Sandie Walker is replacing David Satterlee, who declined to run for another term.

Hill-Evans won 33 percent of the vote, while Helfrich got 34 percent and Walker received nearly 32 percent.

"I support my city and my city council," said Democrat Richard Larkin, 67, after voting Tuesday. "Hill-Evans and Helfrich, they're good people."

Intentions: Last week Walker, who worked for the city for six years, said she would spend her first year on council learning what needs to be done, meeting with department heads and developing relationships.

Hill-Evans' vision for the city includes reducing — or at least leveling — taxes, and she wants to see the council pass legislation that can be enforced.

For Helfrich, reducing taxes is of paramount importance.

"The kind of development we need will come only if we reduce our taxes," he said, expressing that high taxes keep companies out of the city and drive away homeowners.

Reactions: "I feel good," Hill-Evans said after the results came in.

"Being uncontested gives a different feel ... Being out (at the polls) today was less stressful — me helping other people instead of them helping me."

Helfrich said he is looking forward to seeing his visions "come to fruition."

"We had four hard years of keeping the budget balanced," he said, noting that the city is now in a place where there may be tax cuts, which he said would help seniors and low-income people who own their homes.

He said he is also looking forward to working with nonprofits to develop social programs that will help at-risk youth and those returning from jail.

The two other city council seats, now occupied by Renee Nelson and Henry Nixon, will be up for election in two years.

Other city offices: Joe Jefcoat won the office of city treasurer with nearly 99 percent of the vote, according to unofficial results, and Robert Fizel Lambert won the office of controller with 99 percent of the vote.

— Reach Julia Scheib at jscheib@yorkdispatch.com.