DIRT TRACK RACING: Schatz takes home $150,000 by winning Knoxville Nationals


Donny Schatz led all 50 laps to collect $150,000 in Saturday's Knoxville Nationals in Iowa.

Kerry Madsen finished second, with Brad Sweet, Shane Stewart and Joey Saldana in the top five. Lucas Wolfe was the first local finisher in ninth, with Spring Grove's Greg Hodnett earning the Hard Charger award by coming from the last starting position to finish 10th. Danny Dietrich was 15th, Red Lion's Cody Darrah was 16th and Brent Marks was 17th.

Stevie Smith finished 10th in the B-Main, with Logan Wagner 18th in that event.

Hanover's Jacob Allen was 10th in the C-Main, while his nephew, Logan Schuchart, finished 21st in that event.

York's Glenndon Forsythe was 11th in the E-Main


York's Dietz wins at Lincoln: York's Chase Dietz scored his first career sprint car win Saturday at Lincoln. The teenager, who was last year's 358 sprint champion at Lincoln, earned $3,200 for the victory.

Another York teenager, Jordan Mackison, took the early lead and held off Dietz's advances until the 11th lap, when Dietz edged him at the line by just .015 second, just before the event's only caution flag flew.

Dietz went on to score the win over York's Adam Wilt, with Brian Montieth, Alan Krimes and Mackison in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Jim Siegel, Spring Grove's Tim Glatfelter, Dover's Austin Hogue, Tyler Ross and Billy Dietrich.

Heimbach shines at Port Royal: Blane Heimbach finally got the monkey off his back with a win Saturday at Port Royal.

Heimbach won $3,200 for his victory, which came by more than 10 seconds in the non-stop event.

Lance Dewease finished second, with Ryan Taylor, Steve Buckwalter and early leader Joey Hershey in the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Mike Erdley, Dylan Cisney, Davey Sammons, Brock Zearfoss and Curt Stroup.

Jeff Miller Sr. won the late model feature over Tim Smith Jr., Mike Lupfer, Jason Schmidt and Trent Brenneman.

Tim Fedder was the econo late model winner and Kurt Zimmerman won the All American Outlaw event.

Stutts victorious at Selinsgrove: T.J. Stutts collected $10,000 for winning Saturday's 360 Sprint National Open at Selinsgrove.

Stutts led every lap despite several challengers.

Doug Esh was the first to challenge, but dropped out with mechanical problems, turning second over to Davie Franek. Franek applied pressure, but Stutts was up to the challenge. Third went to Kevin Nouse, with Ryan Kissinger and Mark Smith in the top five. Smith was the hard charger in a borrowed car. Rounding out the top 10 were Aaron Ott, Nate Snyder, Jason Shultz, Larry Kelleher and Dave Ely.

Dover's Coleby Frye won the late model feature over Jeff Rine. Matt Cochran, Steve Campbell and Kenny Trevitz completed the top five.

Jackson excels at Hagerstown: Keith Jackson won Hagerstown's late model feature Saturday over Andy Anderson.

Trever Feathers, Gary Stuhler and Jerry Bard rounded out the top five.

Scott Palmer was the late model sportsman winner, Mike Corbin topped the pure stocks, Gary Proctor led the hobby stocks and Alyssa Rowe was first in the Mid Atlantic Modifieds.

McClelland leads way at Trailway: Brad McCelland won Friday's 358 sprint feature at Trailway for his 47th career win there.

Seth Kearchner, Doug Hammaker, Hanover's Issac Sneeringer and David Holbrook completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Spring Grove's Zach Eucalano, Cody Fletcher, Ashley Cappetta, New Freedom's Denny Gross and Dillsburg's Chris Frank.

Craley's Bill Diehl won the Legends feature over Scott Houdeshell, Bob Stough, Rocky Magaro and Hanover's Mason Chaney.

Kyle Rohrbaugh won the limited stock event and twin features for the sidewinder micro sprints went to Rohan Beasley and Hannah Riser.

Williams cancels shows after Campbell's death: Racing at Williams Grove on both Friday and Saturday was canceled after the warm-up crash on Friday that claimed the life of sprint car racer Jimmy Campbell.

— Reach Bryan Householder at sports@yorkdispatch.com.