People You Know for July 28, 2015

York Dispatch

Email items for this column to


Pennsylvania Department of Veterans of Foreign Wars: One of the state public safety award recipients is West York Borough Police Detective David J. Kahley, who was named the PA VFW John Radko Police Officer of the Year. He was nominated by West York VFW Post 8951.

York County 4-H Dairy clubs: Award winners in the summer roundup, held July 13 at the York County 4-H Center, are:

Benjamin Doll, of Glen Rock, supreme cow, supreme heifer, grand champion holstein.

Cody Walker, reserve champion holstein and red and white reserve grand champion.

Rebekah Baumgardner, Ayrshire grand champion.

Sisters Brooke and Jacalyn Bortner split brown swiss grand and reserve champion.

Brooke Bortner, jersey grand champion.

Annagrace Kennard, jersey reserve grand champion.

Kasey Doll, red and white grand champion, supreme bred and owned animal.

Zachary Weaver, of Glen Rock, showmanship grand champion.

Brooke Bortner, of Spring Grove, showmanship reserve grand champion.


Robert Morris University: Derek Paules, of Dallastown; Monica Deluca, of Dillsburg; Chanel Seiders, of Etters; Erick Markle, of Glen Rock; Patrick Lawrence and Cheryl McMaster, both of Hanover; Katie Carlton, of Manchester; Samantha Gordineer, of Mount Wolf; Nicole Rakvin, of Shrewsbury; and Jessica Blodgett, Elijah Carrington, Ashley Delaney, Melissa Derosa, James Heinle, Neil Katora, Evan Leinaweaver and Eric Zearfoss, all of York.

Rochester Institute of Technology: Kevin Millar, of Dillsburg; Cullen Rosenbrien, of Hanover; Timothy Frey, of New Freedom; Cameron McKenzie, of Red Lion; and Matthew Beach, Ryan Bega, Lars Dalemar, Bradley Speck and Mark Spicer, all of York.

St. Joseph's University: Dana Amalfitano, of Dallastown; Mary Brigh Lavery and Steve Scullen, both of Dillsburg; and Clare Kocman, of Red Lion.

University of Delaware: Scott Reeder, of Dillsburg; Dominic Santoleri and Kami Yuen, both of Etters; Marilyn Monkowski, Laura Mumper, Corrine Walsh and Michael Wilson, all of Lewisberry; Daniel Ferraro, Jillian Silverman and Caroline Vesper, all of New Freedom; Amanda Shapiro, of Red Lion; Eric Johnson and Chelsea Shockey, both of Shrewsbury; Morgan Klinedinst, of Spring Grove; Jennifer Philbin, of Stewartstown; Cortney Marshall, of Thomasville; and Domenic Badovinac, Omodele Durojaye, Emily Forrey, Emily Fritz, Samuel Furio, Hayley Harrold, Kevin McLane, Caitlin Reeser, Sophia Sadock and Janson Stoltzfus, all of York.

University of Iowa: Jordan Nicholson, of York.

University of Pittsburgh: Jennifer Golden, of Red Lion (fall and spring).

University of the Sciences: Ellen Noel of Hanover; Shane Henson and Joshua Paul, both of Lewisberry; Diana Miller, of Red Lion; John Teter, of Spring Grove; Zachary Moorefield, of Stewartstown; and Michael Fox, of Windsor.


Bismarck (N.D.) State College: William Keenan, of York.


Delaware Valley University: Mindy Schneider, of Delta, and Misti Brunner, of Hanover.

State University of New York at Oneonta: Abraham Smith, of York.


Lebanon Valley College: Among the students who presented their scientific work at the Disappearing Boundaries Summer Research Meeting on July 17 are Carrie Pfleiger, of Dover, biology; Liana Basehore, biochemistry and molecular biology, and Timothy Monko, neuroscience, both of Dillsburg; and Alexandria Lehman, American Chemical Society chemistry, and Morgan Webb, biology, both of York.

University of Pittsburgh: Jennifer Golden, of Red Lion, is a member of Sigma Alpha Pi national leadership honor society and a member of the club field hockey team, where she served as co-president.

University of Pittsburgh at Bradford: Peyton Kauffman, of York, was inducted into Sigma Alpha Pi national leadership honor society and received the Scholar Athlete Award for the fourth year.


Air Force: Airman Treytyn T. Baker, of Spring Grove, graduated from basic military training, Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio, Texas.