School Roundup for July 2, 2015

York Dispatch

Email items for this column to


The Lenfest Foundation: York County high school juniors who were awarded Lenfest College Scholarships of up to $12,000 per year for four years of college or university attendance are Anna Frazier and Sean Miller, both of South Western High School, and Andrew Luckenbaugh and Rebekah Silar, both of Spring Grove Area High School.


Harold H. Bair American Legion Auxiliary Unit 14: The three high school juniors who were chosen to attend the Keystone Girls State, an "experience in government" held June 21-27 at Shippensburg University, are Madison Bortner, of South Western High School; Marisa Landaverde, of Spring Grove Area High School; and Mayra Perez, of Hanover High School.

Northern High School: Thirteen students received PIAA District III Fackler-Hower Athletic and Academic medals and two seniors received E. Jerry Brooks Sportsmanship medals. They are Ben C. Anderson, Ben D. Anderson, Ethan Bell, Aly Bishop, Emma Coble, Shannon Ford, Meghan Gallagher, Sam Geiser, Elizabeth Horn, Elijah Lazar, Jack McKenzie, Arlana Racer, Noah Richwine, Kennedy Shank and Kierra Zack.

Northern High School: Students who achieved perfect attendance for the 2014-15 school year are Sara Michele Arnold, Grant Franko, Alex Lilja, Bret Miller, Jill Naylor, Abigail Reeder and Morgan Shanahan, Grade 9; Dakota Bowers, Nathan Breon, Austin Brown, Grace Busch, Kyle Clay and Tyler Preun, Grade 10; Zoe Kamin, Brent Sampson, Dakota Santo and Clayton Wolfe, Grade 11; and Edward Busch, Bryson Herb, Faith Reed and Kierra Zack, Grade 12.


System of Care/Communities That Care/Safe Schools Healthy Students: Winners of a public service announcement contest, which raised awareness of youth mental health issues, are:

60-second video: First, Dover Area High School; second, Northeastern High School; and honorable mention, Central York, Dallastown Area and Kennard-Dale high schools, West York Area School District and Safe Schools/Healthy Students.

30-second video: First, Northeastern High School; second, Dallastown Area High School; and honorable mention, West York Area High School.

30-second audio: First, Northeastern High School; second, Safe Schools/Healthy Students; and honorable mention, Dallastown Area and West York Area high schools.